follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (209)
African (2)
American (31)
American Traditional (1)
Asian (8)
Barbecue (3)
Brazilian (1)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (7)
Burger (2)
Cajun/Creole (2)
Caribbean (2)
Cheesesteaks (1)
Chicken (5)
Chinese (30)
Comfort Food/Home Cooking (14)
Contemporary (4)
Country (2)
Creperies (1)
Cuban (4)
Dim Sum (4)
Diner (6)
Eclectic (2)
Ethnic Setting (4)
European (1)
French (2)
Greek (3)
Indian (10)
Irish (3)
Italian (22)
Japanese (8)
Mediterranean (2)
Mexican (8)
New American (5)
Organic (14)
Peruvian (21)
Pizzeria (10)
Seafood (10)
Soul Food (17)
Southern (19)
Southwestern (1)
Sports Bar and Grill (8)
Steak House (8)
Sushi Bar (6)
Thai (12)
Vegetarian (9)
Wings (10)

Other City Reviews

Concord
Cornelius
Gastonia
Huntersville
Indian Trail
Kannapolis
Matthews
Monroe
Salisbury
Stanley
Waxhaw




Charlotte comfort food/home cooking Restaurant Reviews

Charlotte comfort food/home cooking restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Charlotte comfort food/home cooking restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Charlotte just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Charlotte, you've come to the right place.

Our Charlotte restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Charlotte 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 14 of 14

Maria's Grill

 5 star(s)  (05/11/2011)
“Super great comfort food, friendly service, great with kids, owner is always there always up for a convo, prices are better than anywhere else I eat. Decor a little homey like a good 'ole southern cafe.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (06/11/2009)
“It's all good. What can I say.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 4 star(s)  (01/06/2009)
“Best soul food in Charlotte.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (05/19/2008)
“Remember your Grandma's cooking and that special flavor only she could give it? Well you will find that here. From the main dishes to the sides home cooking at it's best hands down! And the staff treats you like family. I only wish I could bring them with me up to Ohio. We don't have anything like t... ”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (02/02/2008)
“Food was excellent staff very friendly.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

   (01/30/2008)
“I love La Wan's. Everytime I go its like visiting family.”

John's Country Kitchen

 4 star(s)  (01/29/2008)
“Great Home Cooked Foods! Great Value! You won't leave this restaurant hungry.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (12/31/2007)
“Great food and very friendly staff. Refreshing to see the owner work the room. I enjoyed the food and the experience,I only wish the side dishes were larger.I will definitely dine there on my future visits to Charlotte.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (10/31/2007)
“I had a really exceptional time at the restaurant. The overall staff was wonderful.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (10/21/2007)
“This restaurant put the "soul" back in Soul Food with a lot of southern hospitality.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (10/19/2007)
“Lawan's has the best food in town! I have also used her catering service several times & it's always a crowd pleaser. Excellent food & a reasonable price.”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (09/14/2007)
“The freshest and best soul food in Charlotte!!!!”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (08/28/2007)
“Ms. Lawan's was an excellent choice for dining! My husband and I were there during the week of August 20, 2007 for a Shriners Convention and the food and service was second to none ! Thank You so Much for serving us a peice of soul ! Constance J. Stotts”

La'Wan's Soul Food Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (07/19/2007)
“They have the best soul food ever.”