follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (209)
African (2)
American (31)
American Traditional (1)
Asian (8)
Barbecue (3)
Brazilian (1)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (7)
Burger (2)
Cajun/Creole (2)
Caribbean (2)
Cheesesteaks (1)
Chicken (5)
Chinese (30)
Comfort Food/Home Cooking (14)
Contemporary (4)
Country (2)
Creperies (1)
Cuban (4)
Dim Sum (4)
Diner (6)
Eclectic (2)
Ethnic Setting (4)
European (1)
French (2)
Greek (3)
Indian (10)
Irish (3)
Italian (22)
Japanese (8)
Mediterranean (2)
Mexican (8)
New American (5)
Organic (14)
Peruvian (21)
Pizzeria (10)
Seafood (10)
Soul Food (17)
Southern (19)
Southwestern (1)
Sports Bar and Grill (8)
Steak House (8)
Sushi Bar (6)
Thai (12)
Vegetarian (9)
Wings (10)

Other City Reviews

Concord
Cornelius
Gastonia
Huntersville
Indian Trail
Kannapolis
Matthews
Monroe
Salisbury
Stanley




Charlotte american Restaurant Reviews

Charlotte american restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Charlotte american restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Charlotte just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Charlotte, you've come to the right place.

Our Charlotte restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Charlotte 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 20 of 31

Beauregard's Restaurant

 4 star(s)  (11/10/2013)
“We had a group of kids from Dancing with The Future Stars from Gastonia/Bessemer City Boys & Girls Club and the kids had a Ball and the food was Great!!! the prices are not bad at all, you also get a lot of food for your money. I'm planning on going back this weekend to take a group.”

Maria's Grill

 5 star(s)  (05/11/2011)
“Super great comfort food, friendly service, great with kids, owner is always there always up for a convo, prices are better than anywhere else I eat. Decor a little homey like a good 'ole southern cafe.”

Dixie's Tavern

 5 star(s)  (02/02/2011)
“First time to Dixie's Tavern was a delightful experience. The food was awesome, the service was excellant and I had enough left over for next day's lunch. Drink specials were really tasty and plentiful. If you want a good time and great food, check out Dixie's Tavern.”

Villa Antonio

 4 star(s)  (01/22/2011)
“We enjoyed this restaurant very much. It was a romantic escape for our anniversary. I recommend this place to anyone who wants a special night out with their significant other!”

Philadelphia Deli Restaurants

 5 star(s)  (12/13/2010)
“In just a few words, this a great place. Family friendly, great food, and service. Menu has an wide variety of choices, daily home-cooked specials, and breakfast is served anytime of the day. I love breakfast.”

Landmark Restaurant Diner

 5 star(s)  (04/01/2010)
“I love landmark's breakfast specials, their service is excellent, except for one older waitress. I have tried her three different times, she acts like she doesn't like african american people or just me. I have complained to the manager. I will still go there I just don't sit on the side she works o... ”

Eastfield Bar & Grill

 4 star(s)  (01/27/2010)
“This new restaurant/bar which isn't far from my house in Highland Creek is fast becoming one of my favorite spots to visit regularly. The service is always good as I am remembered by the staff by name. When I seat at a table for dinner the food is always delicious, I recommend the Kobe Burger or s... ”

Terrace Cafe

 5 star(s)  (12/09/2009)
“Terrace Cafe was Awesome!!!! The Smore's French Toast and the Red Velvet Waffle was to die for. This is just what SouthPark needed. There was no wait on Saturday and the service was excellent. You will not believe this place!!!! I will be telling all my friends..”

Big Apple Deli & Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (10/13/2009)
“Big Apple is the best for lunch. The Greek Salad and the House Special are really good; the double cheeseburger combo is a great deal, everyone loves the chicken wings, but the fish plate is the best. It's a great place to meet, and everyone there is SUPER nice. I would definitely recommend it.”

Beauregard's Restaurant

 4 star(s)  (10/03/2009)
“i enjoy eating at beauregards whenever i go the food is delicious and the cocktails are to die for. my favorite part is the nightime bartender, she is always so friendly, fun and has the best conversation. this is what keeps me coming back!”

Flip'n Chicken

 5 star(s)  (08/11/2009)
“Awesome, but get yours extra crispy!”

Gallery Restaurant

 4 star(s)  (07/22/2009)
“Loved the food, one of the best restaurants in Charlotte.”

Big Apple Deli & Restaurant

 1 star(s)  (05/30/2009)
“service was horrible, waitress well, i guess you can say she was mean.”

Dixie's Tavern

 5 star(s)  (04/01/2009)
“I moved here about a year ago and Dixie's Tavern was one of the first places I came to eat dinner and have drinks at. I love this place! It always has the best food and dinner/drink specials. The staff is fun and very friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone, whether you are just stopping in... ”

Big Apple Deli & Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (01/21/2009)
“Has the best sandwiches/subs in town. People talk about how good the wings are, and they are good, but I usually stick with a sub. Best "sweet tea" in Charlotte.”

Firebirds Wood Fired Grill

 4 star(s)  (01/16/2009)
“i love having lunch at firebird's... my friend's and i go there often... i have also brought many out of town visitors to firebird's for both lunch and dinners.. when my daughter & i shop at the mall, we always have lunch at firebird's...”

Good Ol' Days

 4 star(s)  (08/25/2008)
“My family and I have eaten at this diner several times. We have never had bad service or bad food. For the money it is a great value. The omlets are 3 times the size of regular restruants as are all the menu items. And if your not sure what you want, they have just about anything you could ask for.”

Big Apple Deli & Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (06/26/2008)
“Big Apple Deli is the Best!”

Murphy's Food & Spirits

 5 star(s)  (01/29/2008)
“I used to work close to Murpys and the food as well as the staff are great. I still go there for dinner now and then and we can watch the game on one of the many huge tvs. They have a variety of good home cooked food.”

Good Ol' Days

 1 star(s)  (01/20/2008)
“Very disapointed in this restaurant, my girlfriend and I where treated with terrible service. I recomend any one who values there time and dining experence to avoid the restaurant.”

Read more Charlotte american restaurant reviews >>