follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (223)
American (21)
American Traditional (21)
Armenian (1)
Asian (8)
Barbecue (10)
Brazilian (3)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (2)
Burger (15)
Cajun/Creole (3)
Chinese (22)
Comfort Food/Home Cooking (6)
Continental (7)
Country (3)
Diner (4)
Eclectic (1)
European (1)
Fish and Chips (2)
French (2)
German (5)
Greek (6)
Hot Dog (7)
Indian (13)
Indian/Pakistan (4)
Italian (10)
Japanese (10)
Juice Bar & Smoothie Shop (1)
Korean (1)
Latin (13)
Louisiana (1)
Mediterranean (14)
Mexican (28)
Middle Eastern (6)
Mongolian (2)
New American (11)
Northern Italian (1)
Organic (2)
Pakistani (1)
Persian (3)
Peruvian (1)
Pizzeria (13)
Salvadorean (2)
Seafood (27)
Soul Food (6)
Southwestern (5)
Spanish (2)
Sports Bar and Grill (4)
Steak House (18)
Sushi Bar (8)
Tex-Mex (1)
Thai (1)
Vegan (2)
Vegetarian (3)
Vietnamese (8)

Other City Reviews

Baytown
Channelview
Cleveland
Conroe
Cypress
Dayton
Deer Park
Hempstead
Humble
Katy
Kingwood
Magnolia
Montgomery
Pasadena
Porter
Rosenberg
Spring
Stafford
Sugar Land
Tomball
Waller




Houston american traditional Restaurant Reviews

Houston american traditional restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Houston american traditional restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Houston just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Houston, you've come to the right place.

Our Houston restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Houston 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 20 of 21

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (08/24/2013)
“I love Skol's because the staff is so wonderful and detailed to their clients. Dominique is down to earth and has a great personality. He will put you in the party mood. This is the best kept secret in Houston. You must come out, experience, and become a the "Skol's" groupie.”

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (03/24/2012)
“GREAT for lunch. Everything is always cooked fresh to order. The fried catfish sandwich and the grilled Talapia sandwich are awesome!The burgers are thick and handmade. The fries are the best! This place is addicting!”

Lunch At Sam's

 5 star(s)  (01/11/2012)
“Sam's is wonderful, food is great!!! and reasonable stop by the ower is super nice”

Phil and Derek's

 5 star(s)  (11/09/2011)
“So far I have visited Phil and Derek's 3 times and each time it just gets better. The food is hot and fresh and really taste great.I have told many friends about it, in fact we had a party of 30 there and they all promise that they will return with others, You must try this place.”

Grisby Grill

 5 star(s)  (02/22/2011)
“We had a great experience at this restaurant!! It is delicious and very authentic, which is hard to find even in Texas!”

Pepper's Hamburgers & Tacos

 5 star(s)  (01/20/2011)
“I LOVE PEPPERS, the real thing, fresh, the tortas, quesadillas, tacos on homemade corn tortillas, sopes, flautas, burgers with variety of toppings, lots of SALSAS, pico de gallo so gooood!!!”

Moon Palace

 4 star(s)  (07/23/2010)
“Not much to look at but the people are friendly, the food is reasonably priced, and the food tastes good! Much better than China Palace which is almost next door. Good value for the money. They need to get a website up though to attract more customers since it is a little bit off the beaten path.”

Alfreda's Cafeteria

 5 star(s)  (04/18/2010)
“I LOVE IT , LOVE IT , LOVE IT , THOSE OXTAILS ARE OFF THE CHAIN AND THE VEGGIES WERE AWESOMELY FRESH.I CHATTED WITH THE OWNER WHOSE A YOUNG PROFESSIONAL GENTLEMAN WHO DID WONDERS TO THE PLACE. VERY COURTEOUS AND KNOWS HOW TREAT PEOPLE.”

Lunch At Sam's

 5 star(s)  (03/19/2010)
“After driving in from Austin we wanted to eat somewhere local. We stumbled upon Sam's and feasted! Great home style food. The owner was behind the counter and shared about it's history. Nice guy! I love to travel for little hole in the wall places, and this is definitely on my list of must visits! K... ”

Moon Palace

 1 star(s)  (09/01/2009)
“Not a fancy place...just fancy food.”

The Concert Pub

 3 star(s)  (04/14/2009)
“I love the bands and D.J. at Pub. The bartenders are great too. Mel and Grego are the best. I always get the salmon or the concert tacos. YUM!!! J.D. and Joe always make sure the patrons are having a great time. Gonzo's karaoke on the deck is great.”

Dot Coffee Shop

   (03/22/2009)
“2 friends got food poisoning from burgers. one was throwing up blood. dont go here!”

Lunch At Sam's

 5 star(s)  (02/25/2009)
“Great food if you are looking for burgers and the like. Nice atmosphere.”

Ruggles Grill

 5 star(s)  (11/21/2008)
“The pity is Ruggle's is CLOSED and no one seems to know when it will re-open, or IF it will re-open following damage from the recent hurricane. There is no sign of reconstruction, no lights, and no sign indicating it's resurrection”

The Concert Pub

 2 star(s)  (01/06/2008)
“Went to see one of my favorite bands playing there. The food was good not excellent. The service was poor because we were dancing on the dance floor and the waitress starting cleaning off our table. I walked off the dance floor and ask her what she was doing and she said she was cleaning off the ta... ”

Angie's Country Kitchen

 2 star(s)  (09/20/2007)
“This Resturant , at one time was the best in this area. When Angie owned it. The new owner is more interested in the feelings of their wait staff, than the satisfaction of the customer. some of their wait staff ( who have been there since it was run by Angie ) are very professinal, the new owner cho... ”

Angie's Country Kitchen

 5 star(s)  (07/31/2007)
“i love the place”

The Buffalo Grille

 5 star(s)  (03/19/2004)
“Absolutely superb! The King Ranch spinach enchiladas were the best I`ve ever had, and I`ve had spinach enchiladas several times in both Houston and Galveston.”

The Buffalo Grille

 5 star(s)  (01/24/2001)
“I always make a point to visit the Buffalo Grille whenever I go to Houston. I have only had breakfast there, but it is still great. The plate-sized pancakes are great and very filling. About two by themselves are enough for a meal. The french toast is another winner. But save room for the hash brown... ”

Brennan's of Houston

 5 star(s)  (10/08/2000)
“Brennan's is our favorite when it comes to that special night out. Impeccable service, but you can't be in hurry. Definitely five stars!!! P.S. THE place for bread pudding. ”

Read more Houston american traditional restaurant reviews >>