follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (223)
American (21)
American Traditional (21)
Armenian (1)
Asian (8)
Barbecue (10)
Brazilian (3)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (2)
Burger (15)
Cajun/Creole (3)
Chinese (22)
Comfort Food/Home Cooking (6)
Continental (7)
Country (3)
Diner (4)
Eclectic (1)
European (1)
Fish and Chips (2)
French (2)
German (5)
Greek (6)
Hot Dog (7)
Indian (13)
Indian/Pakistan (4)
Italian (10)
Japanese (10)
Juice Bar & Smoothie Shop (1)
Korean (1)
Latin (13)
Louisiana (1)
Mediterranean (14)
Mexican (28)
Middle Eastern (6)
Mongolian (2)
New American (11)
Northern Italian (1)
Organic (2)
Pakistani (1)
Persian (3)
Peruvian (1)
Pizzeria (13)
Salvadorean (2)
Seafood (27)
Soul Food (6)
Southwestern (5)
Spanish (2)
Sports Bar and Grill (4)
Steak House (18)
Sushi Bar (8)
Tex-Mex (1)
Thai (1)
Vegan (2)
Vegetarian (3)
Vietnamese (8)

Other City Reviews

Baytown
Channelview
Cleveland
Conroe
Cypress
Dayton
Deer Park
Hempstead
Humble
Katy
Kingwood
Magnolia
Montgomery
Pasadena
Porter
Rosenberg
Spring
Stafford
Sugar Land
The Woodlands
Tomball
Waller




Houston american Restaurant Reviews

Houston american restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Houston american restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Houston just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Houston, you've come to the right place.

Our Houston restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Houston 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 20 of 21

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (08/24/2013)
“I love Skol's because the staff is so wonderful and detailed to their clients. Dominique is down to earth and has a great personality. He will put you in the party mood. This is the best kept secret in Houston. You must come out, experience, and become a the "Skol's" groupie.”

MCDonalds

 1 star(s)  (06/10/2013)
“Going through the drive through, I order and unsweet, large, ice tea. The cashier lady got the order correct on the receipt, so then I pull up to pick up the drink. The guy hands me a drink without telling me what it is. I say, "its an unsweet ice tea, right?" He says looks me in the eyes and says y... ”

Hardy Grill

 5 star(s)  (09/18/2012)
“I order 3 hamburger combo and the service was great and very kind and friendly.I will tell any and everyone about Hardy Grill (Restaurant ). Keep up the good work.”

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (03/24/2012)
“GREAT for lunch. Everything is always cooked fresh to order. The fried catfish sandwich and the grilled Talapia sandwich are awesome!The burgers are thick and handmade. The fries are the best! This place is addicting!”

Grooves

 5 star(s)  (07/26/2011)
“AWSOME!! AWSOME!! AWSOME!! Now that Grooves has changed management the service is amazing!! I had my birthday party there and rented out the entire stage, We had a blast!!!”

Cafe Layal Midtown

 5 star(s)  (07/08/2011)
“Great Location with an awsome menu. We went on thursday night and they have a belly dancer which put on a good show. I hope they keep a good service because most of these restaurants get greedy and do bad at the end.”

JJ's Clucker's Bar & Grill

 5 star(s)  (03/02/2011)
“PLACE IS VERY CLEAN, SERVICE WAS VERY ATTENTIVE. GREAT MENU SELECTION”

Pepper's Hamburgers & Tacos

 5 star(s)  (01/20/2011)
“I LOVE PEPPERS, the real thing, fresh, the tortas, quesadillas, tacos on homemade corn tortillas, sopes, flautas, burgers with variety of toppings, lots of SALSAS, pico de gallo so gooood!!!”

Chatter's Cafe & Bistro

 5 star(s)  (05/11/2009)
“Love the wine list, flights, & happy hour. Food is good, healthy, & large portions. Service was excellent. Very attentive, but not over bearing. Love the patio!”

Americas Restaurant

 2 star(s)  (04/29/2009)
“The food was dissapointing. The Grilled Shrimp Tallarines was a plate of corn mush (it was supposed to be fettuccini made from corn) and overly salted shrimp. There our probably a thousand places in this town to get great shrimp tacos at a fraction of the cost of that plate. "Over priced bad food" ... ”

The Concert Pub

 3 star(s)  (04/14/2009)
“I love the bands and D.J. at Pub. The bartenders are great too. Mel and Grego are the best. I always get the salmon or the concert tacos. YUM!!! J.D. and Joe always make sure the patrons are having a great time. Gonzo's karaoke on the deck is great.”

Ruggles Grill

 5 star(s)  (11/21/2008)
“The pity is Ruggle's is CLOSED and no one seems to know when it will re-open, or IF it will re-open following damage from the recent hurricane. There is no sign of reconstruction, no lights, and no sign indicating it's resurrection”

Freddy's Cafe

 5 star(s)  (09/21/2008)
“its a really good cafe!”

Chatter's Cafe & Bistro

 5 star(s)  (08/10/2008)
“Pleasantly surprised! Didn't look like much from the outside, but service was friendly but not over bearing and the food portions were huge for the price! Well done!”

I-45 Classic Cafe

 5 star(s)  (07/14/2008)
“Service and quality was great. Waitress was willing to accommodate our special request for our order as well as serve breakfast beyond the usual time. It was an overall pleasant experience.”

Grooves

 3 star(s)  (06/09/2008)
“This is a very nice resturant and lounge, great food and live entertainment. The food is pricey and the service is horrible!”

Grooves

 5 star(s)  (02/25/2008)
“This place can be kid friendly it just depends on what day and time you go. But the food, the service the cleaniness of the restaurant is excellent they can get my service any time”

Niko Niko's Greek & American Cafe

 5 star(s)  (02/03/2008)
“Great food always fresh ,one of the cleanest restaurants i have ever seen, trythe pork chops,and the famous gyro with fresh cut fries”

The Concert Pub

 2 star(s)  (01/06/2008)
“Went to see one of my favorite bands playing there. The food was good not excellent. The service was poor because we were dancing on the dance floor and the waitress starting cleaning off our table. I walked off the dance floor and ask her what she was doing and she said she was cleaning off the ta... ”

Anthonys Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (08/25/2002)
“great place, but I heard it is closing down and moving to vallone's on kirby. I hope someone can tell me if this is not true. great place to dine.”

Read more Houston american restaurant reviews >>