follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Mexican
Chinese
Italian
Japanese
Burger
Asian
American Traditional
Mediterranean






Dining Specials

Spaghetti Shop
- Italian, Fast Food
Taj Palace Indian Restaurant
- Indian, Bar, Children's Menu, Kids Friendly Restaurant in
Louisville

5  out of 5 stars
5|Taj Palace is always a "must have" meal on each visit to Louisville. The food is carefully prepar...



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Buca di Beppo Louisville  1  out of 5 stars
 Bed management. Not kids friendly. If you do kids birthday party never chose this restaurant, they will ruin your experience. Manager Lisa do not know...
Le Gallo Rosso Bistro  5  out of 5 stars
 A wonderful dining experience! It was like being in Europe with friendly wait staff, a nice time for talking with dining guests since we never felt ru...
Buca di Beppo Louisville  5  out of 5 stars
 We have dined in many places ( here and Europe ) and this is right there at the top. Our daughter and son-in-law invited us for our 33rd anniversary. ...
Le Gallo Rosso Bistro  5  out of 5 stars
 One of the best italian restaurant in Louisville. The scallops are wonderful! You must try! The service has always been great. It is like sitting in y...
Le Gallo Rosso Bistro  1  out of 5 stars
 The worst Italian food I have ever eaten. The atmosphere is very charming, but don't be deceived. Open your own can of Ravioli - you will be much mo...





4.2 stars (20 ratings)

Tuscany's Italian Restaurant

(502) 363-0308
Dixie Highway, Louisville, KY 40258 | MAP | WEBSITE
  | Share |
Features
Italian, Banquet/Party Room, Bar, Children's Menu, Kids Friendly, Romantic, Smoking/Non Smoking, Take Out/Carry Out, TV/Satellite, Wheelchair Access, Dinner, Lunch (Italian Food & Culture History)






UPDATE THIS LISTING

Tuscany's Italian Restaurant Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 20

A diner from Valley Station, KY gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on May 14, 2012 @ 11:54 AM

 I would have rated this a 4 but there are subtle areas that are not quite there; an example, the waitresses are good, but seem unsure and not suggestive as to their offerings, the menu does not offer a variety of wheat dishes. However, the food is usually very good, though limited selections that have no variety. The desserts have a along way to go, not homemade, taste bland and my dessert came frozen in the middle and the other was tasteless. Love the fact that they just need a little improvement to be rated 5, possibly consultants could help or customer surveys and menu changes with regular specialty items. Please stay in the south end though. Hope this helps.
A diner from Valley Station, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 26, 2010 @ 2:01 PM

 My first visit will most assuredly not be my last. Undeniably some of the best Italian Cuisine that I've had to date. Perfectly prepared and served. The service was top notch. I cannot say enough good things about the waiter. He was definately on his game. Exceeded all of my expectations. Menu prices were notably good. I plan to return this weekend with my wife and anticipate many return visits in the future. They've definately set the bar high for other establishments to strive for. Highly recommended.
A diner from Greenville, Indiana gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 21, 2010 @ 3:42 AM

 I am so pleased to find a wonderful restaurant like Tuscany's that offers generous portions of delicious and authentic Italian food. From salads, to bread, to pasta, calzones, pizza,and desserts, I was impressed by the variety and mouth-watering menu. A splendid time was had by our party of five, and we will certainly travel the 30 miles or so it takes us to get there to enjoy again another lovely meal.
A diner from Louisville, ky gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 11, 2010 @ 7:06 PM

 I love Tuscany!
A diner from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 16, 2009 @ 10:29 AM

 This is an easy review. Great food at great prices!
A diner from Louisville gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on May 16, 2009 @ 9:33 PM

 Just tried the new location on Dixie. They've done a great job fixing up the old Bearno's location. I wont' say it was the best the Chicken Parmesan I've ever had, but it is the best in recent memory. They have a huge menu with about everything Italian you could want, including pizza and calzones. Menu prices are less than ten dollars for most items and the portions were large. Will definitely return. It's great to have a good Italian place without having to drive to St. Matthews.
A diner from louisville,ky gave an overall rating of 2  out of 5 stars on March 3, 2009 @ 11:25 AM

 The bread was very cold and the desert we ordered they said they didn't have even though still on menu. One waitress waiting on every single table by herself while the manager helped out occasionally by taking bread to the diners. Food is good except cold bread-asked manager for more bread never got it. Will not be back because of the horrible service. No refills offered until end of meal and waiting on check. How they are opening up a second location on dixie is confusing unless their service is turned around.
A diner from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 23, 2009 @ 12:25 PM

 I am utterly baffled. Just because someone is speaking spanish in a resteraunt does not mean they are illegal!

On another note, this is by far my favorite place to eat in Louisville. I've lived here 20 years and have not found a better spagetti with meatballs. Their cheesestixs are amazing and have an awesome twish being that they are already covered in maranaria sauce and topped with even more perfect gooey chese.

I strongly recommend Tuskanny, as a college kid on a budget. It is excellent food, highly inexpensive. I hope I get to go there today, actually !
A diner [[email protected]] from south louisville gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 1, 2008 @ 2:13 AM

 I have eaten at this establishment 3 time since having relocated to Louisville from New Albany. I can honestly say I've had nothing but good/great food and excellent service. The staff are very customer friendly and the food is consistently good. I've sampled quite abit from the menu in those visits and cannot find a "weak" point. The seafood dishes are in my opinion among the best regionally when compared with fellow Italian eateries... I absolutely would recommend coming here and plan to dine quite often myself...Frank Seay
A diner from lower west side, Louisville gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on October 10, 2008 @ 6:33 PM

 Great place to eat....I'm a little alarmed with he other reviewers though. Do you people have a problem with Latino people?! Did you not know that he OWNER and HEAD CHEF are LATINO????!!!! For you bigots that have a problem with "Mexicans", don't bother eating at that wonderful place. Enjoy your Fazoli's.
A diner from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 7, 2008 @ 1:42 PM

 YES! A great restaurant in the South End! The food is incredible and the atmosphere is just perfect. It's nice to have something a little upscale in this end of town. We definitely will be going back to Tuscany! (To the prejudice reviewer at the end, please do us all a favor and don't come back to this restaurant.)
A diner from LOUISVILLE, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 14, 2008 @ 12:06 PM

 I HAD A REMARKABLE EXPERIENCE AT THIS RESTAURANT. THE SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT AND THE FOOD WAS GREAT. THE WAITRESS NAME WAS SELINE, SHE WAS SO WONDERFUL (BEAUTIFUL GIRL WITH BEAUTIFUL PERSONALITY) OUR ENTOURAGE WAS IMPRESSED.WHEN YOU WALK INTO THIS RESTAURANT YOU FEEL INDULDGED,THE ATMOSPHERE IS SO PLEASANT. THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT AND YOU GET YOUR MONEYS WORTH.I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO EVERYONE."LOOKING FOR GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE GO TO TUSCANY."
A diner from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 13, 2008 @ 1:34 PM

 This restaurant is amazing! My boyfriend and I ate at Tuscany on a weeknight. The food and service were wonderful. We were seated right away, our waitress was extremely polite and helpful, and the dishes were far exceeded my expectations. I had the carbonara with chicken over angel hair pasta. Absolutely perfect! My boyfriend had a calzone that he loved. Also, the prices are very reasonable. I raved about it to all my friends and family and I will be back often! By the way, I am very confused about how the ethnicity or native language of the servers has anything to do with your satisfaction at a dining establishment. You have effectively marked yourselves as bigots and voided any serious comments you tried to make in your review. Great job, "space cadets".
A diner [[email protected]] from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 10, 2008 @ 4:54 PM

 My wife and I, and several friend eat here at least once a week, but most weeks twice. Large groups from our church go there after services on Sundays, and have had excellent service, and good food every time. I don't believe I've ever eaten anywhere else that the waitresses and management are any friendlier.
A diner from louisville, Ky gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 2, 2008 @ 6:57 AM

 No matter what anyone says, this place is wonderful!! The food is out of this world! My boyfriend and I have made this place our weekly (sometimes multiple times)spot, never ordering the same thing twice, and have never been disappointed. The service has always been great, in our experience. And the bang for your buck is more then reasonable. It's about time this end of town got a good Italian place. No matter what anyone says, we believe this restaurant blows most places to the dust. Try it, you'll see! Oh, by the way, the smoked salmon is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!
A diner from louisville, ky gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 1, 2008 @ 10:26 PM

 The Tuscany Restaurant provides a quality product at a reasonable price! I frequent this establishment quite often and have found many dishes that are wonderful(smoked salmon,calzones,salads, pizza tuscany burrito). The strip mall front may not be appealing to some but the atmosphere is laid back and relaxing. It's great to have good italian so close to home
A diner from Louisille KY gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on June 23, 2008 @ 9:28 PM

 What a disapointment! No so much the food but the service. A group of my friends dined there on Sunday and the food was pretty good and we had good service. . . one of the non mexican waitresses. My husband and I ate there tonight and what a difference. We had a terrible waitress. She was space cadet. I ordered the chicken marsalla and it was awful! The sauce was like water! Yuck. Despite it all we did leave a $5 tip. The waitress totally screwed up our check . . . charging us for things we didn't order and not charging us for some things. In addition it didn't add up. I paid anyways since it was pretty close. However, the waitress followed us outside and said that I hadn't paid for the beer we ordered and I said I paid exactly what was on the check. There was a charge for a drink for $1.75 which I assumed was the beer. I did go back in to pay what I owed. The cashier refigured the bill. The waitress hadn't charged us the correct amount for the chicken and the beer was supposed to be $2.75. When all was said and done I owed $1.30. My husband questioned why we were brought in for a $1.30. The cashier rudely explained that she would be short at the end of the night and that quote "you have to do what you have to do!" I wished I had told the waitress to take it out of her tip! Actually I wished I had my tip back! Really bad experience! Food is only marginal at best! Stay home and eat Ragu until they get smarter waitresses!
A diner from Louisville, ky gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on February 18, 2008 @ 4:00 PM

 We had a party of 7 on Sat night with made reservations at 6:30. we were seated right away but they seemed confused about it.
We all agreed your food was excellent. But the service was awful. We ordered 2 appetizers and 2 different bottles of wine, you were out of one.We got only one appitizer at a time.There were missing salads, no bread until later, missing dinners, and desserts. we had to stop 3 different waitresses to get one dessert. We had seperate checks with the wine and appetizers on one, the waitress seemed overwhelmed. She put 2 or 3 orders on 1 bill. when we paid, the cashier had a hard time dicipering the bills for each of us,and seemed to not be able to read the bills. I felt like I was paying at a diner.
I really hope with more training and more staff you can remedy this problem. As I said you have a great resturant with great food. I want to see you succeed, and I hope to return in the future.
A diner from Louisville,KY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 3, 2008 @ 8:32 PM

 GREAT FOOD GREAT PLACE
A diner from Louisville, KY gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on December 26, 2007 @ 7:43 PM

 This was a storefront restaurant in a shopping center by Walmart. Not much in the way of decor. The food is reasonably priced and tasted good. I got baked manicotti and was a little surprised when it arrived on a plate in a bed of spaghetti, but it was good? My friend had lasagna which I sampled. It was good food. Server was polite and did a good job. I was concerned by the number of folks working there speaking Spanish. I consider that rude and have to wonder if I'm eating in a place that hires uninspected illegal aliens. I wish our health dept./local government would get on the ball and check for that while rating restaurants. I'll probably look the place over myself before dining again.


  » Read More: Louisville Restaurant Reviews