follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Chinese
Mexican
Burger
Soul Food
Chicken
American Traditional
Wings
Italian


Nearby Cities

Warren
Sterling Heights
Livonia
Troy
Clinton Township




Dining Specials

Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp
- American, Barbecue Restaurant in
Detroit

4  out of 5 stars
4|Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, med...
Centaur Bar
- Tapas, Casual/Family, Bar, Billiard/Pool Tables Restaurant in
Detroit

5  out of 5 stars
5|Just love Centaur either as an evening start or an evening closer. Their pear martini is awesome....



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp  4  out of 5 stars
 Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, medium,hot), Usually i only love the sweet sauce but th...
China House  1  out of 5 stars
 Do not eat at this restaurant. I gave them 1 star for everything only because there was no Zero rating available. They are takers of the community a...
Gourmet Deli  2  out of 5 stars
 Not what it's cracked up to be. Owner does not treat employees very nice and often disciplines them in front of customers (I've witnessed this more ...
Caribbean Kitchen  5  out of 5 stars
 This is the best jam rock restaurant in Detroit hands down. Everything is good. Only thing I hate is that they are always out of plantinz .
Nunns Barbeque  5  out of 5 stars
 What a great surprise, The ribs were super tender and had the most loved smoked flavor, The greens were lovely, the mac and cheese was ok (could be be...





4.4 stars (22 ratings)

Happy Cream Ice Cream & Deli

(313) 965-3038
128 Monroe St., Detroit, MI 48226 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
Deli/Sandwich/Subs, Ice Cream/Yogurt Shop




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Happy Cream Ice Cream & Deli Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 22

A diner [[email protected]] from undisclosed location gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 13, 2013 @ 10:33 PM

 Where Ray and Mrs Betty now? I forget their last names, but we sure miss them and Happy Cream and Deli.
A diner from Knoxville, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 9, 2010 @ 10:01 PM

 Had a great time and the food was awsome. They have unusual deserts, like banana pudding ice cream and a new sweet potatoes cheesecake which were both delicious. The deli sandwiches are big so bring your appetite.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 27, 2010 @ 7:06 PM

 Just loved the Banana Pudding Ice Cream ... on my way now to get some!! I've told all my friends and family!! Very nice employees - pleasant and relaxed atmosphere!!
A diner [[email protected]] from Norfolk, VA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 14, 2009 @ 12:23 PM

 I absolutely loved the Monroe sandwich!
Seriously, I havent been able to find a sandwich like that anywhere else that I have been in Detroit.
A diner [[email protected]] from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 9, 2008 @ 11:38 AM

 I love the service. The people are friendly, the food is great and you get your meals at an appropriate wait time. I recommend that everyone who hasn't tried this restaurant to try it out and i will guarantee they will love it.
A diner from detroit mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 1, 2008 @ 10:03 AM

 every since i heard about happy cream i've enjoyed going there. i walk down there on my lunch almost everyday. the banana pudding ice cream is my favorite. the service and the employee is excellent.
A diner from detroit mi. gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 24, 2008 @ 12:10 AM

 I thought the food there was wonderful. I'd eat it everyday. The people there treat you like family.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 17, 2008 @ 3:29 PM

 I love hanging out at Happy Cream. The food is great and there's a family feeling when you go in. You can't beat the prices nor the service!

BEST HOMEMADE GUMBO IN DOWNTOWN DETROIT!!
A diner [[email protected]] from Dallas, Texas gave an overall rating of 2  out of 5 stars on November 17, 2007 @ 8:20 PM

 Not really happy with the service. Roy and Betty were pleasant but the other guy, Al, seemed only interested in setting up date with me. Service was very slow, sandwich was not worth the price and the ice cream was good. My overall experience with the restaurant was not good. When I visit different cities, I like to enjoy the people, events and eating establishments, not getting hit on by restaurant workers. Would not recommend.
A diner from detroit gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 27, 2007 @ 7:25 PM

 hey, lots of places one can get ice-cream, even in close proximity to happy cream, but you can't get the SERVICE, the feeling of being appreciated and feel the love that also goes into the home made desserts that make the trip worthwhile by themselves. the in-store dvd is always playing something that makes you want to stay a while too.
A diner from Canton, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 27, 2007 @ 3:18 PM

 I felt at home at Happy Cream. It was like I was over a family members house for dinner. The staff was very friendly and courteous.

SW
The Mad Prophets
A diner [[email protected]] from Deeeetroit!! gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 27, 2007 @ 8:57 AM

 Ms. Betty and Mr. Ray and Mr. Al...We love hanging with you...because you are friendly and loving people...AND you thought we came only for your delicious sandwiches, ice cream, cakes and shakes, didn't ya? Not!! We love your company, conversation and laughs!! Your kindness and service has not gone unnoticed!!
A diner [r718mccoy[email protected]] from Rochester Hills, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 26, 2007 @ 8:28 PM

 The staff of Betty, Ray and Alphonso were great. The food, service, and value of the food was out of this world. This is a place where you can bring the family or your date and feel at ease. The sandwiches are packed with meat and the ice cream is like a taste of heaven. I go to many places and this deli wins hands down.
A diner from Detroit, Mi. said... on January 9, 2007 @ 8:37 PM

 The mess-a-round sandwich is as the name implies.Don't have on your Sunday best while eating this three bread layered sandwich of everything but the kitchen sink. I struggled to keep it on the plate rather than in my lap and failed.A sandwich is no longer a sandwich if you can't place it in your hands to eat.
A diner from Detroit, Mi. gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on January 4, 2007 @ 7:29 PM

 The service there during the day is less than desireable, the staff would rather play on their computers than serve customers,it is much improved in the evening. hey happy people how about some consistency in your service. Hot dogs are not jumbo as they say but they're good. Sandwich's will get soggy on you, mine did. Rye bread did not have rye flavor.
A diner from Detroit, Michigan gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on January 4, 2007 @ 7:09 PM

 The food is fine, you can tell the cakes are store cakes. The lighting needs to be brighter. They need to speed up the time it takes to wait on
customers. The person who claims to be the owner tends to crowd you with conversations of his worldly exploits and spiced up with profanity, just let us eat please and keep the dogs out of the restaurant too, the only restaurant in Detroit that serves dogs durring business hours,hmm is that legal Detroit Health Department?
A diner [[email protected]] from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 25, 2006 @ 11:03 AM

 Happy Cream is a wonderful place due to a winning combination of food, service, pricing and the fantastic attitudes of the staff! My friends and family visit their often and we've never had a less than excellent experience. It's also a great place for a small birthday party.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 5, 2006 @ 10:33 AM

 This place has incredible sandwiches and excellent service. Also, please try the banana pudding ice cream, it's seriously addictive.
A diner [[email protected]] from Ann Arbor, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 4, 2006 @ 1:14 PM

 Had the most wonderful dining experience and salads in a long time. If you're looking for people who serve food with care, flavor and a smile, you need to go to Happy Cream for a Black Bottom Salad and ice cream. I send everyone I know.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 26, 2006 @ 7:41 PM

 Happy Cream has the best atmosphere. The staff is so inviting and hospitable. The food is delicious and they are eager to give you a sample. The ice cream is great, too.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 25, 2006 @ 9:10 AM

 The food was excellent! I went with my 2 children and they ate everything to the last drop. My 2 year old is a picky eater but, she wasted no time diving into the Chicken & Rice Gumbo. They had no problem giving out samples. Everything I sampled, I bought.The sauce they use on their turkey sandwich was absolutely delicious. Their definitely not your average diner. The Banane pudding ice cream along side the homemade red velvet cake was the perfect end to already perfect meal. They get 2 thumbs up!
P.S
The chicken & rice gumbo is to die for.
A diner [[email protected]] from Detroit, Michigan gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 20, 2006 @ 7:50 AM

 I really liked their uniqueness of cooking and hospitality. My children liked the food and felt at home there.


  » Read More: Detroit Restaurant Reviews