follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
Chinese
American
Italian
New American
American Traditional
Mexican
Japanese
Burger
Mediterranean


Nearby Cities

Bensalem
Norristown
West Chester
King Of Prussia
Doylestown




Dining Specials

Fratelli's Italian Bistro
- French, Italian, Banquet/Party Room, Bar
5  out of 5 stars
5|on a recent trip to Philly to to catch a couple of ball games a small group of us happened upon Fr...
Picanha Brazilian Grill
- Brazilian, Barbecue, Steak House, Banquet/Party Room



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Sole To Soul  5  out of 5 stars
 Service was so excellent. They went out of their way to make sure that we had a pleasant visit. The biscuits with the garlic butter was fresh and de...
Famous Dave's  5  out of 5 stars
 OMG just thinking about their ribs & roasted chicken makes me hungry! I stop here on my way home from work, and I absolutely love their smoked meats ...
Le Cochon Noir  5  out of 5 stars
 I HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO VISIT THIS RESTAURANT BY GOING TO VINCENT L JOHNSON'S FUND RAISING EVENT FOR JUDGE. THIS IS A 5 STAR RESTAURANT...MUSIC, FOOD...
Sole To Soul  5  out of 5 stars
 The food was the best I've had in along time.
Fratelli's Italian Bistro  5  out of 5 stars
 on a recent trip to Philly to to catch a couple of ball games a small group of us happened upon Fratelli's. We went in for a drink and some lunch. Wel...





4.1 stars (33 ratings)

Temptation's Restaurant And Jazz Club

(215) 849-7000
3801 Market Street, Philadelphia, PA 19104 | MAP | WEBSITE
  | Share |
Features
Cajun/Creole, French, Barbecue, Seafood, Bar




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Temptation's Restaurant And Jazz Club Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 33

A diner [[email protected]] from ne philadelphia pa gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 23, 2010 @ 6:15 AM

 for those of you dined at Gloria's gourmet seafood Temptation's (the restaurant side) is owned and operated by the same person i have dined at both establishments on numerous occasions everyone that i have dined with have enjoyed themselves immensely yes there is a wait for the food but usually i go when there is a live band or comedy or something else going on so i do not really mind also, the owners also operate a bakery called black pearl give them a chance as well you will be pleasantly surprised
A diner from Philadelphia, Pa. said... on October 5, 2009 @ 2:35 PM

 On Oct 2nd My daughter and I gave a private Birthday party at Temptations Restaurant. The food was excellent, the decorations were supplied by management and was very tastefully done. My guests were very impressed with the food, the atmosphere, the cleanliness and the location. I recommend Temptations restaurant to anyone who is planning a private event and is looking for a classy place to have it. My thanks to the management of Temptations for helping to make our party a success...MM
A diner from phila., pa said... on September 5, 2009 @ 7:40 AM

 POOR management. As an upcoming and new restaurant owned and operated in the beautiful Germantown, Pa.,section of Philadelphia.. this establishment SHOULD be better. Yes! the ambiance and decor is beautiful, but the lack of customer service and accomodation is horrible !!!!! I havnt dined there YET (i say that loosely).. but how i have been treated on the phone in reference to getting information that is CONSISTENT from one phone call to the next, makes we wonder whether I should patronize this venue for an affair of 100 guests. (thats alot of money lost to this establishment). If they dont get it together.. no longer will they be able to say that they ESTABLISHED their ESTABLISHMENT. My suggestion, HIRE a qualifed BANQUET manager and stop having everyone try to wear many different HATS to cut costs.. CUSTOMER SATISFACTION and COURTESY !!! PROFESSIONALISM !!
A diner from Philadelphia, pa gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on July 8, 2009 @ 3:50 AM

 Food was horrible, service was worse! What an embarrassment to be called a restaurant, let alone gourmet. Board of health should check out the food, especially the fish...fresh was definitely not part of any of the food we were served! McDonald's has better wait staff than this place! Slow service, long wait with no one really in restaurant, and the staff stood around socializing. Total disappointment.
A diner from Phila., PA gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on June 11, 2009 @ 6:32 PM

 I am always impressed by the beautiful surrounding and gracious staff. The food is always AWESOME! I recommend Temptations all of the time.
A diner from northeast philadelphia gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 1, 2009 @ 12:50 PM

 Me and my friend went to Temptations restaurant for dinner we had a wounderful time. we enjoyed the night we had and will be back.
A diner from West Germantown, Philadelphia, Pa gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on May 7, 2009 @ 1:02 PM

 My; mother, sister and I decided to something different this Easter of 2009 so we went to Temptations for dinner. Prior to dining there, I called to obtain information on the holiday meal. I was informed by the male who took the call (lter to find out it was the owner) that they would be serving a beef, chicken and fish dish along with; mac & cheese, collard greens, candided sweets and maybe rice. I was also told that the band would be playing. BINGO! That sold me. Then the gentleman said you can confirm this on your credit card. I then told him that I would call back because I had to confirm w/ my party. I was a littel put off by this because I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ABLE TO MAKE A RESERVATION AND THAT BE IT! Needless to say, we went to Temptations on Easter without a reservation and it was empty. There were a few tables with people but trust and believe it was NOT CROWDED! The buffet had; baked salmon w/ a glaze, baked dark meat chicken (Dark meat is NOT the preference of anyone in my party)the meat tasted as if it was par-boiled first then baked, fried catfish strips and the beef dish was MEATBALLS?? The collard greens were EXCELLENT! Candied yams superb! and the rice cooked to perfection! We were served the most delicious and hot buttered rolls, our drinks were great...sweet iced tea. The dessert cosisted of one generous slice of cake. I must say that they tried to pass the lemon cake w/o icing off as 7 up cake. We were very dissapointed that the band never played. They weren't there!I think that we should have been told by the hostess or our waitress that the band wasn't playing and an apology made. The service was good. Our waitress was great! Overall we we pleasantly pleased. I had dined @ Temptations serval times for lunch and dinner. My mom once for dinner. This was my sisters first dining experience. We are from NW Philly and my sister didn't know about Temptations. We even suggested to the Manager that this restaurant start advertising to the local churches and the local papers. It should have been packed on Easter Sunday. Also, beef meatball?? It really should have been a better selection of beef for dinner and those awesome mucis CD's would have surficed for the band. The price was a bit much for the selection of food and neighborhood. We will be back and will keep giving suggestions.
A diner from Phila. PA gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on May 2, 2009 @ 1:49 PM

 Hope the jazz is better, because the food and service is an embarassment. This place is sure to be an empty store front soon! Whoever owns this place should have saved the money they spent on decorations and used it to pay for a real cook and training for a wait staff.
A diner from Cherry Hill, NJ gave an overall rating of 2  out of 5 stars on February 16, 2009 @ 1:59 PM

 The only good thing about this "so-called" restaurant was the live music. The place was empty except for one couple when we came in and we waited for our meal for almost a half-hour. The portions were sufficient but the side choices for "soul food" were limited to string beans, greens, macaroni and way too sweet potatoes. The cook came out from the kitchen with filthy street clothes on, a nasty looking apron, no hair net and proceeded to stand around the bar while the wait staff just stood around. The red snapper was oily, smelled fishy and rank! I had to have it removed to keep from getting ill. The green beans were overcooked, wilted, too salty and stringy. The greens were crunchy with grit! The server was unmoved about how the fish was not eatible and the management was equally unconcerned,never offered nothing else and then refused to take it off the bill even though it was returned untouched! Overpriced, poor service and horrible food. Even with a chance to correct things, management fell short! Will never recommend to anyone. Terrible disappointment!
A diner from Cherry Hill, NJ gave an overall rating of 2  out of 5 stars on February 16, 2009 @ 1:58 PM

 The only good thing about this "so-called" restaurant was the live music. The place was empty except for one couple when we came in and we waited for our meal for almost a half-hour. The portions were sufficient but the side choices for "soul food" were limited to string beans, greens, macaroni and way too sweet potatoes. The cook came out from the kitchen with filthy street clothes on, a nasty looking apron, no hair net and proceeded to stand around the bar while the wait staff just stood around. The red snapper was oily, smelled fishy and rank! I had to have it removed to keep from getting ill. The green beans were overcooked, wilted, too salty and stringy. The greens were crunchy with grit! The server was unmoved about how the fish was not eatible and the management was equally unconcerned,never offered nothing else and then refused to take it off the bill even though it was returned untouched! Overpriced, poor service and horrible food. Even with a chance to correct things, management fell short! Will never recommend to anyone. Terrible disappointment!
A diner [www.ghostdog.yahoo.com] from Downingtown,pa.19335 gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on December 24, 2008 @ 1:25 PM

 I had a jazzie night!
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on December 9, 2008 @ 1:24 PM

 I've had the opportunity to visit the jazz restaurant (smaller room) as well as the ballroom for oldies. And I can say I enjoyed myself completely. The staff, food and total environment was great!!
A diner [sykes_sharon@verizon..net] from Philadelphia,PA gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on November 11, 2008 @ 11:27 AM

 Finally Germantown has a bigger spot to really get your old school on. Not only can you get that on,YOU on a Wednesday night can enjoy live entertainment while dinning or just enjoying yourself. The entertainment is great. Keeping up with the latest steps and meeting new and old friends is great while line dancing, bobing and Cha Chaing on Thursday night is great. Yes, Philadelphia Temptations is giving you space to really get your party on!!!
A diner [[email protected]] from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 18, 2008 @ 3:58 PM

 I took my mom here for her birthday on July 4th the service was excellent. The food was great. Clean and quite atmosphere. I especially want to thank our waitress VALERIE. She made us feel welcome and suprised my mom with a birthday song, one that I never heard before. Hats off to you Valerie and the staff at Temptations. Oh, and the prices were very reasonable too.
A diner from (West Mt. Airy ) section of Phila PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 9, 2008 @ 10:20 AM

 I visited your restaurant last evening July 8, 2008 and I really enjoyed the food as well as the service. I had been told a head of time pretty the place was and they were correct. They have a great dinner menu and I believe everyone will be satisfied with the portions. I will spread the word and they people will come.
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on July 8, 2008 @ 2:19 PM

 I was invited to a retirement party in June, 2008 and the service, food, and overall experience was excellent. We stayed after the retirement party for the R&B open mic. What an treat! It was so good that i returned the following week with my boss for a business dinner. I would recommend this bliss restaurant to anyone and everyone!
A diner from Mt. Airy gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 5, 2008 @ 7:43 PM

 My 1st visit to the restraurant was fabulous, for my birthday in March, my husband treated me to diner at Tempatation unknownly it was open mic night, we stayed to here some of the performers they were great!! My second visit was on Mother's Day and I had my mother from out of town and my grandmother 93 yrs old with me and I was very disppointed. It was over booked we were told we had to wait my grandmother could not stand for a long time. I chose to go over to the restaurant side instead of the ballroom. The atmosphere was great not crowded and the entertainment was wonderful.The food was under what I had expected from my first experience. Unfornately, you could taste the grit in the greens and we had to wait to go up and get the food from the buffet table. I know Mother's Day was an exception because I went back for dinner and for ony drinks. The 'superb' food and service was back, I had a GREAT TIME!!!
A diner from (Mt. Airy) Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on June 17, 2008 @ 11:38 AM

 I went to this restaurant for the first time yesterday June 16 for my nieces graduation dinner. It was really nice, I didn't know this was here. The food was really good, loved the macaroni and cheese and greens. The rolls were nice and hot. The service was very good as well. It's nice to know something like this restaurant exists so close to home. I would recommend this restaurant to my friends and family.
A diner from Philadelphia. PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 21, 2008 @ 10:54 AM

 Wonderful restaurant. My son and his wife had their wedding and reception at the restaurant. Our entire family was very pleased. They did an awesome job with the decorations and the service, presentation of the meal as well as the food itself was excellent. Would highly recommend to others and they don't break your purse.
A diner from philadelphia , pa gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on May 13, 2008 @ 9:01 PM

 My family and I Went to Temptations on Mother's Day. We were very disappointed. Our reservations were switched after we prepaid. They later found us a table that belong to other guest. The food was ok except for the collard greens ( YOU COULD TASTE THE DIRT IN THEM). They over booked and people had to stand until others left. They ran out of food and closed the buffet line down for 45 minutes. You had to scrape your plates over the garbage can if you wanted something else to eat. We waited for over 1/2 Hour just to get something to drink which, consist of pure lemon juice ( not lemonade ) without ice and hot tea( not ice tea) the water came 2 hours later. Dessert was served after numerous complaints from the guest. Dessert was frozen apple pie, and chocolate cake, coconut cake and pound cake with glaze disguise as upside down pineapple cake. There was one young waitress ( I wish I knew her name) that was trying her best and very pleasant. There was also a very nasty waitress that argue with many guest and that wore a scarf around her head that look like she just got out of bed( that was very unprofessional in a business that seems to want to send a good impression of their establishment). You can bet my family, friends neighbors and anyone else that I know will never step foot in Temptations again. I felt bad because I took my Mother, GOD-Mother , cousin, sisters and neice to celebate Mother's Day.

A very disappointed customer.
A diner from Lansdale, Pa gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 10, 2008 @ 6:21 PM

 The food was excellent, wish they had a desert menu. The atmosphere was great for conversation, band playing can still hear one another. I will return to dine in what I believe is a hidden treasure.
A diner from philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on May 8, 2008 @ 12:10 PM

 Wonderful experience. Will definitely return. I recommend crab cake, turkey wings and stuff shrimps.
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 8, 2008 @ 10:29 AM

 Wonderful place to dine. The food was excellent. Employees were very warm and friendly. The jazz was great.
A diner from Northeast, Philly gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 2, 2008 @ 11:48 AM

 I love this hidden gem!! I have eaten here once and gone just for drinks once as well. I am going to be dining again tonight. The house band is WONDERFUL!! Extremely talented! The food is great!! (coming from the girlfriend of a Chef). The only thing I could recommend is to dim the lighting a little more to match the romantic atmosphere. See you tonight Temptations!!
A diner [[email protected]] from philadelphia, pa gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 23, 2008 @ 6:20 PM

 My fiend and I dined at Temptations on Sunday night.
The dinner was served elegantly and the meals tasted as delicious as they looked.
3 jazz musicians and a singer serenaded us while we dined.
The restaurant is decorated very romantically in black and white. There are tables for two or more, which is perfect for young lovers or families.
Temptations will tempt your eyes the moment you enter. You won't be sorry you came by to taste the aviance.

Definitely a 5 Star attraction
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on April 21, 2008 @ 8:48 PM

 The most relaxing place I have ever dined at. definately doing this again. Peacefull atmosphere, friendly service and perfect portions of food. Im a big eater and the soul food was the right size. I would refer this place to anyone.
A diner [[email protected]] from philadelphia, pa gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 12, 2008 @ 12:29 AM

 excellent place superb dining.The best!
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 7, 2008 @ 3:20 PM

 Wonderful experience. I was amazed thatI hadn't heard of Temptations before I accidently found it on my own. What a surprised pleasure!! Don't keep this Club/Restaurant a secret; I am sharing it with everyone I know who is looking for elegance, class and fanstastic food.
A diner from Northern Liberties gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 6, 2008 @ 7:22 PM

 Had a lovely dinner at Temptations. The marconi and cheese is to die for, also the sweet potatoes were heavenly. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for good food and entertainment.
A diner from Philadelphia, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 2, 2008 @ 12:05 PM

 The food was great, and I just loved that DC Curry he was just TOO funny...
A diner from Mt. Airy in Philadelphia gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 31, 2008 @ 11:37 AM

 On 3/30/08 was my first experience at Temptations and I had a wonderful time. I would gladly come back again. The atmosphere was wonderful. My mother is 61 and she love D C Curry's performance and the food was excellent.
A diner from Horsham, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 8, 2008 @ 8:58 PM

 Wonderful dining experience. The service, food and atmosphere were all wonderful.
A diner from Philadelphia, PA said... on February 17, 2008 @ 10:15 PM

 I've been there twice; I never had dinner, just drinks. It's a great place to go to just sit at the bar and have great conversation.


  » Read More: Philadelphia Restaurant Reviews