follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
Chinese
American
Mexican
Italian
American Traditional
Latin
Wings
Burger
New American


Nearby Cities

New York
Brooklyn
Flushing
Staten Island
Jamaica




Dining Specials

Caridad Restaurant
- American, Italian, Latin, Southwestern
Pro Pizza
- Italian



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

The Original Crab Shanty Restaurant  5  out of 5 stars
 This resturant is proberly one of the most under rated restaurant in the city!! I met my wife here 20 years ago-- now we take our children here. Than...
Gold Lobster Restaurant Inc  4  out of 5 stars
 The food is great and cheap for a restaurant, a hard deal to come by. It is small but has a nice setting inside. The waiters are friednly and are qu...
The Original Crab Shanty Restaurant  4  out of 5 stars
 Every thing was good The crab legs was great
The Original Crab Shanty Restaurant  5  out of 5 stars
 A bang for your buck!!!!
The Original Crab Shanty Restaurant  5  out of 5 stars
 The BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT in NYC!!! My wife Ingrid,daughter Leah & myself Aaron go there at least 3 times a month to experience the finest in seafo...





3.9 stars (21 ratings)

Portofino Ristorante

(718) 885-1220
555 City Island Ave.
Bronx, NY 10464 | MAP | WEBSITE
  | Share |
 
  
$5 Gift Certificate
Your Price: $2
terms and conditions
 
Features
Italian, Seafood, Catering (Italian Food & Culture History)






UPDATE THIS LISTING

Portofino Ristorante Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 21

A diner from Wilmington, NC gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 16, 2014 @ 6:41 PM

 I went here in March 2008 on my spring break. First time to NY and first time ever at a true Italian restaurant. Oh my was the food fabulous! I wish they had one down here in NC. I got there Chicken Marsala and now its my favorite Italian dish. Next I go to NY I will go to Portofino's!
A diner from Bronx gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 29, 2013 @ 7:36 PM

 You can't ask for anything better than Portofinos; Service and food are amazing, workers are very friendly. It's not right unless its Portofinos.
A diner [[email protected]] from Bronx gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 29, 2013 @ 7:12 PM

 Portofino restaurant is a very excellent restaurant, I recommend this to everybody they have a variety of Italian dishes food is magnificent can't get better than portofinos let's not forget the they have a wonderful outdoor deck with a terrific view on a scale from 1-10 it gets a 100
A diner from Bronx, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 16, 2012 @ 11:57 PM

 During my couple years of dining at Portofino's, I always remembered the exquisite food, friendly service, and amazing atmosphere. After every year of eating here, the service got better, the food gets better, and 40% of the place got renovated. This is a good thing though. The air deck looks splendid after it got renovated, and there is even valet parking now. The best part about this though, is looking at the NYC skyline while enjoying a great meal, and talking to your friends. Sometimes I think what can beat Portofino, and I never have an answer.
A diner from New Jersey gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 28, 2011 @ 11:18 PM

 We have been going at least twice a year for years now. This is the best restaurant we have ever eaten in. The food is always excellent and each time it just gets better and better. The people are friendly the atmosphere is romantic.
We come from NJ to enjoy the best food ever.
A diner from New York, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 22, 2010 @ 5:07 PM

 My husband and I found Portofino's 4 years ago by accident. And it was the best accident ever. This restaurant has become our place to go to for my birthday and our anniversary. WE LOVE THIS PLACE. The food, the people, the decor...just everything. I recommend this restaurant to every one i know.
A diner from Westchester gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on January 11, 2010 @ 12:33 PM

 I was in this beautiful place last summer, I had de best food, especially the fry oysters... I can not understand why in such of beautiful place the bathrooms are not taking care of such as no locks on the doors and dirty looking...
A diner from bronx,NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 1, 2010 @ 9:27 PM

 last year around august, me and my family had a wonderful expericence at portofinos. i highly suggest this resturant for anyone who loves excellent food and great quality service. we were celebrating my grandfathers birthday. we had an excellent view of the NYC skyline. everyone enjoyed their food and was pleased with the service. BRAVO!
A diner from bronx, ny gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 1, 2010 @ 9:27 PM

 last week was the first time i went into portofino. let me tell you it was absoutly amazing. great food. great service. it felt like home. there were not to many people there but still it was romantic. one of the most romantic times i hade with my hubby. i LOVE this place. looking forward until i go there again. highly recommendd. great place. bravo
A diner from Long Island, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 27, 2009 @ 12:57 AM

 Portofino Restaurant in City Island gave me a wonderful experience! The decor as well as the food was great! Service was amazing; the waiter's were so friendly as well as the manager. I recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to enjoy an Italian diner at this lovely restaurant! Cannot wait to go back! (:
A diner from Westchester County gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 28, 2008 @ 8:51 AM

 We were introduced to Portofino by attending a party held there. It was so wonderful, that my Wife & I returned for the most romantic dinner we've had in years. The food was very good, the ambience spectacular with romantic & very comfortable booths lining both walls. The service was attentive and courteous. The entertainment was just great. The piano player filed our requests as we danced the night away. There is also an open air deck. Don't miss this place.
Bravo, Bravo, Bravo
A diner from Bronxville gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on April 8, 2008 @ 9:12 PM

 Had a gathering with friends we have not seen in years, we all found Portofino to be a wonderful dining experience. The ambience was lovely, very romantic and airy. The food was great as well as the attentive service. We all felt at home especially when the piano playe Michael filled all of our requests and made us feel as though he was singing and playing especially for us.
We recommend Portofino and will be returning again & again
A diner from Bronx NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 16, 2007 @ 3:00 PM

 Portofino is everything was superb!loved the best food and friendly service.
A diner from bronx gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on May 29, 2007 @ 12:53 AM

 good good
A diner from Paterson, New Jersey gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 2, 2006 @ 6:32 PM

 It's such an awesome place. The food is fabulous and the waitors/waitresses are good at their job.
A diner [[email protected]] from Bronx, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 27, 2006 @ 4:37 PM

 I was at portofino recently and i had the best apple martini anyone could ask for!!Portofino has the best martinis in the whole NYS!!
Thanx So Much Portofinos And Staff
Love Tina
A diner from Bronx, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 27, 2006 @ 4:33 PM

 Me And my family went to portofino in portofinos and everything was excellent!! The outer seating is the best!!!O]
A diner [[email protected]] from Bronx, NY gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 27, 2006 @ 4:30 PM

 I was in portofinos in june and everything was amazing! I had a lobster special and it was incredibale! I had the best service ever and the home maid grappa topped everything off!!I celebrated my 25 birthday there that i will never forget! i cant wait till my 26!!
A diner [[email protected]] from Bronx Ny gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 20, 2006 @ 2:09 PM

 I disagree with everybody who says Portofino's is not so great. Portofino has great service,great food,great value....everything is great!! If you disagree go again and youll change your mind. i give it 4 stars!!
A diner from Westchester, NY gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on May 22, 2006 @ 9:41 AM

 Service is so poor only 3 people understand english in the dinning room. The Italians have left and the Albanians don't seem to understand not only english but they also don"t understand service. Avoid this restaurant unless you want to be aggravated.
A diner from New Rochelle, NY gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on September 14, 2003 @ 7:50 PM

 As a frequent diner on City Island, I know that C.I. is one of the best kept seafood dining areas in the NYC Metro Area. Portofino, although trying to compete with fine restaurants on City Island, needs a lot of help. The management just hasn't gotten the idea that a restaurant experience is a function of service. The promise of the menu is destroyed immediately by the reality of the service. Our food order was bothched not once, but twice, our dining room had more than a dozen flies circling about and the management explained this away by saying: "all restaurants on the water have fly problems, there is nothing we can do about it". We eventually wound up walking out.
Save your money and find somewhere else to dine.


  » Read More: Bronx Restaurant Reviews