follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Chinese
Mexican
Burger
Soul Food
Chicken
American Traditional
Wings
Italian


Nearby Cities

Warren
Sterling Heights
Livonia
Troy
Clinton Township




Dining Specials

Club Waterfalls
- American, Sports Bar and Grill, Casual/Family, Bar
Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp
- American, Barbecue
4  out of 5 stars
4|Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, med...



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Spud Headz  1  out of 5 stars
 The food was good BUT, after being told my order would be ready in 15 minutes, I sat and waited for 35 minutes. This was after trying to instruct the...
Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp  4  out of 5 stars
 I HAVE NEVER BEEN DISAPPOINTED WITH THE FOOD OR SEVICE. THEY HAVE BEEN THERE FOR YEARS AND THE SEVICE IS GOOD SOMETIME YOU MAY TO WAIT A LITTLE BUT IT...
Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp  4  out of 5 stars
 Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, medium,hot), Usually i only love the sweet sauce but th...
1917 American Bistro  5  out of 5 stars
 Great place to dine i just love American Bistro.
1917 American Bistro  4  out of 5 stars
 Very nice place, first time there. I have already told several people about it. It's a wonderful atmosphere and the wait staff was great. I especially...





4.4 stars (12 ratings)

Greenwich Time

(313) 961-7885
130 Cadillac Sq., Detroit, MI 48226 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
American, Burger, Tavern, Brewery/Pub/Tavern, Historic, Banquet/Party Room, Bar, Business Lunch, Kids Friendly, Late Night Dining, Live Entertainment, Outdoor Seating, Smokers Friendly, Smoking/Non Smoking, Take Out/Carry Out, TV/Satellite, Wheelchair Access, Dinner, Happy Hour, Lunch




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Greenwich Time Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 12

A diner from Detroit MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 27, 2010 @ 10:25 AM

 If you are looking for the ritz, skip Greenwich Time. If you are looking for an authentic family owned very cool local downtown pub, this is the place. Your grandmother, on her best day, couldn't make meals this good and she probably would have charged more than what Greenwich Time charges. Great customers and service. Stop by after 5 PM and you can play dominoes with world champion and owner, Harry!
A diner from lake orion gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 23, 2010 @ 5:10 PM

 A friend suggested we go to Greenwich Time for lunch, he works downtown and goes there sometimes with friends. We got there 5-10 minutes before it opened at noon, doors still locked, and the family-friendly staff let us in. In my opinion it was average food, but a good price and friendly service, our lunch was ready in less than 10 minutes. If you're downtown, this is a good place
A diner from Tucson, AZ gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 5, 2009 @ 4:18 PM

 My wife and I just moved from Detroit to Southern Arizona. I enjoy Tucson, but I really miss places like Greenwich Time. I doubt you can find a better burger anywhere, the chicken salad is made in house daily, and the potato salad is perfect. Greenwich Time is a family place that treats people right. That means a great meal at an honest price. You can either go over to Hard Rock Cafe and pay twelve bucks for a burger, or get four beers and a BETTER burger at Greenwich. Don't forget $5 spaghetti Wednesday! Who else gives you meatballs in meatsauce?
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 3, 2009 @ 2:42 PM

 Greenwich rocks. The family owned staff is awsome. Fridays are eventfull and on special occasions they throw partys with their own signature DJ.
A diner from Sterling Heights, MI said... on July 15, 2008 @ 2:50 AM

 "I've been going to Greenwich Time for 30 yrs + and have never had a bad meal or drink."

It really has been that long since Paul Borg sold the place ? I know for years the bar was called Borg's and a hangout for Greyhound employees.
A diner from Troy, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 14, 2008 @ 4:33 PM

 This is Detroit's best secret that needs to be let out of the bag. Mike, Nika, Dana and Harry are great people. I go there every Wednesday for the famous spaghetti and on Fridays after work and I have never had a bad experience. The prices are way reasonable, it's a great place to get fed and drunk for under twenty bucks. But most of all, it's very homey, everyone there welcomes you with smiles and open arms... it's my own version of Cheers only better.
A diner from dearborn mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 4, 2008 @ 9:01 PM

 I love this little downtown pub. Food is great and the workers treat you like family. This is the Cheers of Detroit. The Fiesta Fridays are so great I cannot get over the fact that the owner still appreciates his customers and gives away food to make a true happy hour. WOW such a delight!!
A diner from toledo, ohio gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 20, 2008 @ 12:17 PM

 I was in town for the auto show and just happened to walk in on this hidden little gem of a place. The barmaid Nika was really informative and made me feel right at home. the food was so good at such a low price. I also drank a $1.50 mug of beer. the burger was really juicy and delicious. i haven't eaten such a good burger in a long time. this place has been around since 1952 and i hope it is around for many years to come.
A diner from St. Clair Shores gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 20, 2007 @ 4:28 PM

 I've been going to Greenwich Time for 30 yrs + and have never had a bad meal or drink. Harry's spaghetti on Wednesday and everyday a different soup (homemade)and fresh everyday Chicken Salad to die for. If you are lucky to be their when Nika makes her tocco's now thats a treat, and after work Michael may suprise you with his homemade Corn Chips and homemade Salsa Verde. Remember if you are lucky.
Enjoy
A diner from Canton, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 17, 2007 @ 6:25 PM

 Great family owned bar with a homely feeling. Definetly challenges for the best burger around. The best tuna melt I've ever had. Never a wait for a table during lunch and the service is very fast. Great low key place to watch the tigers game on the big screen and grab the cheapest/coldest beer downtown. The bartenders Mike and Dana are very nice and friendly and so is the waitstaff. I've tried plenty of places downtown and this is by far my favorite.
A diner from Dearborn, MI 48226 gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 14, 2007 @ 10:20 PM

 This great downtown pub has a warming welcoming atmosphere. The waitress Nika has a wonderful smile and such a cheerful personality. The food is served homemade its simply amazing how fast it is served. I eat here on my lunch break and have time to spare. The cook and owner has not changed in over 50 years. This family owned place is my favorite place in the city. If you want quality food for your bucks you must visit Greenwich Time.
A diner from Ferndale, Mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 12, 2007 @ 3:25 PM

 This place has the best burger in Detroit, maybe even the world! The plasma tv in the bar area is a perfect place for watching the tigers at a more low key environment without loud blasting music. Also a perfect place to grab lunch during work. They have the best Tuna sandwich I have ever had. I also suggest trying the patato salad. Wash it all down with a frozen mug of Miller Light or a favorite bottled beer. I love the place. Mike, the cook/bartender is real sweet. Harry, the owner always has a good story to tell. Great place for a party too!


  » Read More: Detroit Restaurant Reviews