follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Mexican
Chinese
Burger
New American
Italian
American Traditional
Middle Eastern
Japanese


Nearby Cities

Detroit
Warren
Sterling Heights
Livonia
Troy




Dining Specials

Antonio's Pizza & Pasta
- Italian, Pizzeria Restaurant in
Westland

0|I want everyone to know that you do not card people with credit cards. My credit card got stolen a...
How Bout Pizza Enterprises Inc
- Pizzeria Restaurant in
Westland




Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Smokey's  5  out of 5 stars
 My wife and I have been to Smokey's of Westland quite a few times. We have yet to find a dinner we did not enjoy. There ribs are the best ribs I have ...
Backyard Bar-B-Q   I could smell the rotten food as I stepped into the storefront to pickup my phone order. The lobby and counters were covered in a sheen of grease and ...





4.4 stars (17 ratings)

Alexander the Great

(734) 326-5410
34733 Warren Road, Westland, MI 48185 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
Barbecue




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Alexander the Great Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 17

A diner from Westland, MI gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on May 15, 2013 @ 10:32 AM

 5/14/2013
We received a gift certificate and I ordered the "fabulous" rib dinner and my husband ordered Chicken Parmesean. The waitress was going off duty and advised us another would be taking her place. Took forever to get the food to our table. The ribs were burned, tasteless and tough! The sweet potatoe fries were good and the chicken parmesean was good. VERY DISAPPOINTED regarding ribs and length of time it took to get our meal as well as lack of attention from waitress. Sorry but we won't be going back again. What a shame! It used to be a very good restaurant.
A diner from Westland, MI gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on February 15, 2011 @ 2:10 PM

 Went to Alexander the great on February 11, 2011 foe the first time. Chose the restaurant based on the reviews from this site. Truly dissappointed ordered the Ribs for two and purchased three shrimp ala carte. Ribs were tough not fall off the bone. Not mine or companions taste for Barbaque ribs eiither no smoked taste and just an average sauce. Shrimp were breaded frozen from the box butterfly shrimp no need to say more about that other than will not be back. Smokey's in Westland far better choice or even Famous Dave's.
A diner [[email protected]] from Commerce Township Michigan gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 30, 2010 @ 9:36 AM

 My husband and I have been coming to this restaurant for over 13 years. The best BBQ Ribs and Broasted Potatoes anywhere! With ribs this good how can anyone NOT get BBQ sauce on their lips, nose, and fingers! I'm jus saying! :)
A diner from Beverly Hills, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 29, 2010 @ 11:18 AM

 I have been eating at this restaurant since I was a child, and now bring my own kids. The food is still top quality, the ribs are amazing and I buy the bbq sauce to use at home and put it on everything. The atmosphere is family friendly, clean and inviting. I travel over 40 minutes to dine here at least 3 to 4 times a month.
A diner from Westland gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 12, 2010 @ 12:01 AM

 Great Place to eat!! I love the Ribs and Chicken. Friendly Waitstaff. Also you get very large portions at a good price. This is my Favorite Restaurant in Town!!
A diner from Westland, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 31, 2010 @ 5:02 PM

 The food here is great, the ribs are always cooked just right with the perfect amount of their homemade bbq sauce on them. The waitstaff is always very friendly here and they listen to your wants and needs. Also they have great low prices.
A diner from westland mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 3, 2009 @ 3:48 AM

 Everything here is always Great, ribs, broasted, bbq chicken, pulled pork. Nice friendly atmoshere. Great service.
A diner from westland mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 3, 2009 @ 3:42 AM

 Always love this place, everyone is very friendly and the food is GREAT!! can't beat the price either, they always have alot of specials. The ribs are the best, slow cooked over a rotissorie.
A diner from westland gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 22, 2008 @ 6:06 PM

 Great food, great service, great price. Excellent Ribs, Chicken, Broasted Chicken!!! The BEST in town!! They also have a Dinner and Movie package for only 29.95 with Emagine Theaters.
A diner from Westland gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 27, 2008 @ 3:00 AM

 Had dinner there last night and enjoyed a wonderful night. The Ribs were excellent, the way REAL barbecue is done!! Everything was great, the food, service, and ambience of the dinning room, and the holiday decorations were exquisite. Enjoy Real Food at Alexander the Great!!!! (you can tell it is homemade!! not like that frozen microwaved stuff at those chain restaurants)
A diner from Westland gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 26, 2008 @ 3:36 PM

 Great food and great service at a great price. Their specialties include Barbecue Ribs, Barbecue Chicken and Broasted Chicken and they offer a lot more, Steaks, Seafood, Italian Dishes, Salads. They also offer a Dinner and Movie package for only 29.95! Two dinners and two show tickets to Emagine Theaters.
A diner from westland gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 11, 2008 @ 5:17 PM

 I usually do a take out for the ribs and have never been disappointed - the ribs are meaty and the taste is great!!!
A diner from Flint MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on October 26, 2008 @ 11:55 AM

 I have been going to this restaurant since I was born, the service has always been amazing; ask for a women named Alex for your waitress and your have the best service. My family and I still travel over and hour to get dinner there, mostly around the holiday seasons. But you can not beat the mastaochoii or their French onion soup!
A diner from wayne, Mi gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on August 5, 2008 @ 12:48 AM

 was there on a monday for lunch food took forever even thou no one was in there the cook was watching tv instead of cooking my food the waitress was talking on her cell phone but my drink was empty and she did not seem to care not likely to return I wonder how they stay open
A diner [[email protected]] from Westland MI gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on June 15, 2008 @ 5:52 PM

 Lost our take out order, gave to someone else. Way over priced for quality of food. Mostacciolli was tough almost unchewable. no soup with dinnner purchase. No wheelchair access to smoking area, bathrooms and waiting area very small. Will not return
A diner from wayne, Mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 17, 2008 @ 3:40 PM

 I have been eating at this restaurant about once a week now for years I find staff to be great and food is always good as for the previous review about smoke maybe they were just at a smoking table
A diner from Livonia, Michigan gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 16, 2008 @ 10:41 AM

 This place has been here forever, and it is still the same excellent quality that I remember. I have always had excellent service, the portions are huge, and food is fresh and has a great value. I bring my 2 year old, and they are always kid friendly - have a variety on kid menu. Maybe previous reviewers were having an off night. Not typical.


  » Read More: Westland Restaurant Reviews