follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Italian
Chinese
American Traditional
New American
Mexican
Japanese
Burger
French






Dining Specials

Gourmet Mexicano
- European, International, Mexican, Casual/Family
Lucca
- Italian, Seafood, Outdoor Seating, Romantic Restaurant in
Fort Lauderdale

5  out of 5 stars
5|Excellent Food.



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Las Carnitas Honduras  5  out of 5 stars
 Owner friendly
Ole Ole Mexican Grill and Cantina  5  out of 5 stars
 well i have work in this restaurant and well i love the way they though me the magic of a mexican dish and there flavor and also how to become a true ...
Ole Ole Mexican Grill and Cantina  5  out of 5 stars
 Ole Ole has the BEST Tuna Dip and the best Salsa of any Mexican Restaurant I have tried. All my friends love the Tuna Dip and Salsa so much that WHEN...
Mexican Cantina  5  out of 5 stars
 We sat at the bar and were greated by the bartender Sergio who was friendly and helpful.We first tried the complimentary chips and salsa which was exc...
Ole Ole Mexican Grill and Cantina  5  out of 5 stars
 This is the BEST MEXICAN restaurant in the entire world! Ive been going there for 13 years and it has not let me down





4.1 stars (14 ratings)

Carlos & Pepe's 17th St Cantina

(954) 467-7192
1302 SE 17th St, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33316 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
Mexican (Mexican Food & Culture History)






UPDATE THIS LISTING

Carlos & Pepe's 17th St Cantina Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 14

A diner from Southgate Mi said... on December 7, 2008 @ 1:01 PM

 Great place, I ate there before a cruise. Best part(Picture this) My dad has althimers,and He comes around the corner with this ice cream in his hand and says it is free.We all laugh and He was correct, A small soft serve for the road is free.
A diner from Miami gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 1, 2008 @ 4:40 PM

 Love it! we are going there tonight! good food, good margaritas, good music... this is the place to go when feeling Mexican!!!
A diner from Gainesville, Florida gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 21, 2007 @ 7:07 PM

 I concur with everyone who rates this place highly. I go there anytine I'm in South Florida. I've know good Mexican, but the ambience, food and drinks at this place beats any others I've tried. Its ambience is darkly-lit, multi-tiered, satillo-tiled. The margaritas and food are to die for, especially the burros. Its all good!
A diner from Tampa, FL gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 17, 2007 @ 11:37 AM

 I live in Tampa Florida and have been going to Carlos and Pepes when ever we go to the Miami area. Each time we go, we wonder if it is as good as we remember. It never lets us down. We try different Mexican Restaurants all the time and have not found anything as good. This is the best Mexican food ever!!!!!
A diner from Pembroke Pines gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 6, 2007 @ 2:48 PM

 I have not been to Carlos and Pepe's for a while, but all the other times have been excellent. I cannot wait to go back. Now that I am reading the reveiws, my mouth is watering and I cant wait to have that yummy salsa and margarita again soon.
A diner from Atlanta gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 24, 2007 @ 6:51 PM

 Carlos and pepes has the best food on planet earth. When we go to florida we eat there twice a day. It's that good. The chips are so fresh and the salsa is the best I have ever had. Several of us go there and we all agree, It's the best food we have ever had,bar none. I compare every other place I ever eat to Carlos and Pepes. Usually I say, this food is about half as good as Carlos and Pepes. Please don't ever change your food. The service we recieved was very good and I have been there several times over the years, Carlos and Pepes, Your rating with us is a great big TEN ++++++++++
A diner from Ft Lauderdale gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on August 17, 2005 @ 5:43 PM

 The food in Carlos & Pepes is outstanding. The prices are very low. The service is very regular. I happen to speak spanish and some of the male servers are just rude!. They hit off on women. I felt harass there. Also the servers are rude if you don't leave a 15% or more tip. I went there and the guy ( short, stocky) was so annoying I just left 10% tip and he followed us and make us feel very unconfortable... If I didn't leave you a bigger tip is because you don't deserve it.
A diner from Pembroke Pines, FL gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on July 5, 2005 @ 6:08 PM

 We used to eat at Carlos & Pepe's in Kendall and loved it until it closed - if this is the same company, we tried 17th Street for the first time and were well pleased. It was very busy but we only had to wait 5 minutes, the server was great, very attentive without being obtrusive; the food was good and fairly priced; the place lacks a little ambience but is still pretty nice to dine in and even though it's a ways for us to drive, we'll definately be back when we feel like "Mexican"
A diner from Los Angeles gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 26, 2005 @ 7:46 PM

 This is our favorite place to have dinner when in Ft. Lauderdale! The crab nachos are to die for! Thumbs up all the way around :-)
A diner from Plantation, FL gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 25, 2005 @ 1:44 PM

 I have been going to Carlos & Pepes since 1976 when I started working in the area. I LOVE THE PLACE. Good Mexican style ambience. Nice outside swing tables. They have the best Chicken Caesar Salad in the world (the jalapeno bread that comes with this is to die for). Great beef enchiladas, strawberry margaritas, and salsa, too. They are open for dinner every night (I think) but are only open for lunch Fri, Sat and Sun so guess where I am every Friday for lunch. Lunch is crazy at this time so try to get there around 11:45a or after 1:00p. The Manager (Roberto) is great. $10-$12 for lunch average.
A diner from Portland, ME gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 11, 2005 @ 5:11 PM

 I used to live in Fort Lauderdale and Carlos n Pepes was a regular stop for my family. We go back everytime we are in town and the food and service is always wonderful!
A diner from Pompano Beach, FL gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 8, 2005 @ 10:13 AM

 I moved to Florida as a native of California and have found Carlos and Pepe's a wonderful reminder of home. The Vegitable Chili Relleno's are great and the Margaritas are second to none.
I love the staff, they are egar to help and a pleasre to visit. My very favorite is the Tacos al Carbon, Steak of Course, and the beef tamales are awesome. I hope you all think so too.
A diner from Orlando gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 14, 2004 @ 6:55 PM

 That lady was crazy, I've been going to Carlos and Pepes since 1996 and each and every time the salsa's been wonderful, the service is fast, and the food is consistant and superior. The last time I ate there in June 2004, I had the Chicken Chimichanga - huge and delicious.
A diner from Fort Lauderdale gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on July 23, 2004 @ 12:34 AM

 We came to this reastaurant with a party of 4 at 9pm in the summer off season. There was no one waiting and we saw them seat three other parties before us. We asked why this was since there was an available table. They said that was for a party of 6 and we were only four. we asked to talk to the manager and he unbelievably said the same thing. We promptly left and went to Outback down the street where we were immediately seated. I find it unbelievable that this restaurant stupidly loses 4 customers for the possiblity that a party of 6 is going to walk in at 9pm on a weeknight in the offseason. If this is any indication of their service I would certainly not recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially with so many other choices in fort Lauderdale.


  » Read More: Fort Lauderdale Restaurant Reviews