follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Italian
Chinese
Mexican
Burger
Chicken
Asian
Thai
Japanese


Nearby Cities

Kent
Cuyahoga Falls
Barberton
Stow
Hudson




Dining Specials

Noisy Oyster Pub
- American, Seafood, Sports Bar and Grill, Casual/Family
Hideaway Bar & Grill
- American



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Bialy's at the Lakes  5  out of 5 stars
 the food is great, we never have to wait too long to be seated or waited on. The prices are great. The servers are friendly. It's not real fancy, but ...
Hacker's Bar & Grill  5  out of 5 stars
 Excellent food and our server, Shannon, was excellent!
Bialy's at the Lakes  3  out of 5 stars
 We ordered Early Bird specials: Liver & Onions and grilled Chicken Breast. The Liver was tough and not deveined, the onions greasy but not sauteed cor...
Bialy's at the Lakes  5  out of 5 stars
 We eat there often,and i dont know why anyone would complain. The food is good and the prices are great.You walk out feeling full with the course they...
TJ's Amber Restaurant  5  out of 5 stars
 This place is amazing with fresh salads. Their Spinach and Apple Salad was amazing. Sharon is always smiling and very helpful.





3.4 stars (21 ratings)

Anthe's

(330) 644-2239
4315 Manchester Road, Akron, OH 44319 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
American




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Anthe's Reviews

Avg Rating: 3  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 21

A diner from Stow, Ohio gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 5, 2010 @ 12:57 PM

 Not having been there in years, we were pleasantly surprise with the friendly service, the lit fireplace on a cold Feb.day, and the salmon salad with the white french dressing.......amazingly ....so good infact we have plans to go again with friends soon
A diner from Akron, OH said... on January 6, 2009 @ 12:31 PM

 I went to Anthe's recently after it was purchased by the Bahas family. I have been a customer of both Anthe's and The Waterloo for over 50 years. I am so glad that the Bahas family bought Anthe's and I am looking forward to again having excellent food and service that these two restaurants having been giving akron area diners for all these years! I really enjoyed my trip there shortly before Christmas. I am glad I can still get the fabulous sour dough rolls and bean salad, and the "dry roqufort" Maurice salad, also. I love going in during the 4-6pm specials when the restaurant is not crowded. I hope diners that were disenchanted with the previous owners, (after the Anthe's sold the restaurant), will give it another try. I am eagerly looking forward to what the Bahas's have in store for the restaurant, and hope they include Greek dishes!OPA!
A diner from Downingtown, PA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 5, 2008 @ 4:38 PM

 On Nov 1, 2008 we had a birthday celebration in one of the separate rooms. We had 15 adults and 3 children. The evening was great! The room they gave us was perfect for our event; very nice and very clean. The food and the service was fabulous. There was not one person in our group who didn't love their entree (we ordered off the menu). I know Anthe's is recently under new ownership, and they should be proud of what they've accomplished. We could not be happier.
A diner from Norton, oh gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 29, 2008 @ 10:31 AM

 September 28, 2008

Dear Jim Polk and Jennifer;

I want to express my deepest gratitude of thanks for a job well done by Jennifer and her Anthe’s staff. The service was gracious and timely; the food was outstandingly delicious. The two happiest people there were the bride and groom, Katie Conti Markey and Steve Markey. Thank you again for making this occasion happy and delightful.

Thank you,
Jim and Sandy Conti
A diner from Barberton, Ohio gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on May 19, 2008 @ 9:53 AM

 Like a previous poster stated, I have been a customer at Anthes for many years.

Since new management took over there has been a drastic change for the worse!
My latest visit was Sat., May 17, 2008.

I was attending an awards banquet. The service was buffet style. For what was charged, the food was terrible, both in choice and taste! Several times there was a back-up at the buffet tables because people were waiting for new food items to be brought out. There were complaints from some people that they did not have much left on the buffet table when they got to it and they were told they were out!

The salad that is served at this restaurant is very boring. All it amounts to is lettuce! There are no tomatoes or anything else!

The sour dough rolls are excellent. Thank goodness for those or I would have gone home hungry!

Dessert was included in the buffet price. We were served a small dish of vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup.

I am going to make sure our organization does not book with Anthe's next year!

(The decor could use an update as well. The ladies facilities were rather on the shabby side, with rather old, chipped linoleum on the floors.)
Sad that the new owners are resting on the laurels of the Anthe's of former days.
A diner from Doylestown OH gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on March 28, 2008 @ 4:31 PM

 My entire family has enjoyed the dining experience at Anthe's Restaurant for 25 years.
We have family birthday dinners, groups of friends get togethers, My wife and I have gone there for evening meals hundreds of times. We also have had funeral dinners there. We have always given our positive input in having our High School reunions at Anthe's.
(NO MORE)
The quality and value of the meals is not what it was under the old management. The chef or in this case (cook) needs to understand that the customer is paying for and eating the meal. The chef should prepare the food the way the customer wants it, not the way the chef wants to prepare it. I had a very unpleasant evening there on Wednesday the 26th of March.I went to Anthe's with a couple of friends. I ordered a well done steak. I explained to the waitress when she took the order that since the new management took over that I keep having to send the steak back to get it well done. This ruins the evening because the other people have nearly finished their meals before I get my meal. When you pay $30.00 plus tip for a meal, you expect to have a good meal and not be upset when you leave. The steak came out medium rare. I was heading for the kitchen to talk to the chef with steak in hand when I was intercepted by the manager. I explained the series of events to her and told her that I did not want that steak or anything else and I would not be back. This ruined my evening as well as my friends evening.
Both of my friends steaks were under cooked but they ate part of their meal and left the rest.
I haven't noticed any line to get into Anthe's lately, maybe other people feel the same as I do but have not confronted the management.
Speak up.
A diner from Akron, OH gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on March 25, 2008 @ 8:56 PM

 Have not been to Anthes since it's new ownership and visited it with my family on Easter, at best the food was room temperature,the service was below average, I actually thought it may have been our waitresses first day, waiting for your waitress to return for drinks or inquire how your meal was is virtually impossible, the waitress was aware of our dissatisfaction with our food and cleared our table with 95% of our meal left on it and offered to get our check after waiting 20 minutes for our checks to arrive I walked to the front and asked to speak with a manager to address my concerns,I was approached by the owner,her defensive attititude and lack of customer service skills was obvious she was not concerned with the customers opinion or her reputation of her restaurant.
A diner from randolph ohio gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 28, 2007 @ 9:16 PM

 I had dinner tonight with my family and another family/friends. The service, food, and atmosphere was excellent as always. We will definitely be back!
A diner from Copley, Ohio gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on December 4, 2007 @ 1:42 AM

 Under new management the restaurant is an embarassment to the Anthe's name. My meat was like eating shoe leather and the Maurice salad which helped to make Anthe's famous is no longer on the menu. Tank goodness Nick Anthe's on Main Street still exists for the true fine dining experience.
A diner [[email protected]] from Norton,Ohio gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on November 22, 2007 @ 5:15 PM

 We decided to do something different for Thanksgiving this year and dine out at a place we've loved for years.We called at least a month ago and made reservations @ 4:00 P.M. and requested to sit in the lounge area.We were told at that time the piano player would be playing and it sounded like a nice time.We were also told we could order from the Thanksgiving menu or from the regular menu. The hostess ignored me when i told her our reservations were for the lounge after asking again she said there were no tables in the lounge.Even though there were at least eight tables open the entire time we were there.We were rudely escorted to a banquet room and sat at a table with a #3 in the middle of it!What sounded like a a great idea for Thanksgiving Dinner WASN"T.
A diner from Akron, OH gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on July 10, 2007 @ 1:58 AM

 Under new management. Went by recomendation and got sauerkraut balls, and halibut. Terrible. Slow service and rude hostes. We later understood that the people who recomended us to Anthes ment Nick Anthes. We went to Nick Anthes, got the sauerkraut balls and Halibut, and realized what a waste of money going to Anthes was. Dont confuse Nick Anthes with Anthes, your taste buds will hate you for it.
A diner from Wadsworth OH gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 30, 2007 @ 9:52 PM

 My friend and I stopped in Anthe's on a weekday afternoon for lunch. The restaurant is very nice and clean inside and out, and our waitress was very fast and efficient. We had fried oysters and stuffed mushrooms that were both delicious, as well as soups and main courses. The lunch specials are a real bargain so if you go make sure to check out the board at the front door or ask your server. We were both impressed and plan to return there for dinner soon to try one of the steak or seafood entrees they offer. If it's anything like our lunch experience, I know we won't be disappointed!! Polly Martin
A diner from Akron, OH gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on February 10, 2007 @ 12:34 AM

 Terrible service. I would never go back. I got reffered to Anthes from a patron of Ken Stewarts Grille. I had the saeurkraut balls, and they were over done and had no flavor what so ever. Dont get Anthes confused with the much better restaurant NICK ANTHES on North Main Street. Nick Anthes is far more superior and well worth your dollar. I highly discourage eating at Anthes. Go to Nick Anthes, their service is much better, and their sauerkraut balls are world class winners.
A diner [[email protected]] from Akron, OH gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 1, 2007 @ 6:47 PM

 I have been coming to Anthe's Restaurant on Manchester Rd. at the Lakes for over 40 years. I have fond memories of my Dad taking me there as a little girl. The food has always been great, as well as the service and the ambiance. I honestly do not remember sending any food back to the kitchen, ever. Since I am now paying the tab, I like to meet friends there, after work, between 2and 4pm to take advantage of their early bird specials. Do not confuse this restaurant with "Nick Anthe's" on N. Main Street, which is much pricier, and does not have the sourdough rolls! I have many great memories of the Anthe's, Charlie & Pauly, and now Jimmy & Merrilee's place on the hill, where our family has spent many great times at family functions there. I will continue to recommend it to my friends, and it will continue to be my "special ocassion" place.
A diner from Wooster,Ohio gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on December 23, 2006 @ 4:52 PM

 Wed Dec 20, 2007 2 couples went for dinner. The food was very good. Service very bad. Granted this was an exception as my wife and I have eaten there many times without a problem.

Problems as follows:

1 Waitress first thing said she was having a
bad day and was not happy.
2 Ann asked for lemon with her water never
received finally took mine when I got tea
with desert.
3 Hostess and waitress constantly reached across
to refill water glasses and serve us dinner.
One time hostess reached across to fill glass
and missed- dumping water on table and on to
the ladies.
4 We had feeling waitress was doing us a favor.

Rest assured it will be a long time before
we return. My wife And I were very embarrassed to say the least.
5 When serving coffee waitress spilled it
onto saucer.
6 When water was spilled waitress just thru
napkin all over it.

We were trying to introduce our friends to
fine dining evening.WHAT A JOKE!!!

A diner from Akron, OH gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on December 12, 2006 @ 5:15 PM

 We live in Akron, Ohio and have been patrons of Anthes for over 16 years. We are in our late 30's and still enjoy lunches and dinners there.

The service is a laid back and not up tight. The liver, scrod, bean salad and rolls are fabulous.
A diner [[email protected]] from Clinton, Ohio gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on October 17, 2006 @ 4:46 PM

 My husband's family has gone to Anthe's for generations. We had our wedding reception there. It's been a tradition to have our anniversary dinner there as well. Anthe's has always been a bit pricey but it's hard to beat a family tradition. The last time we celebrated our anniversary there the food was less than average, the service was poor and bordered on rude. Upon sharing this with management we were verbally attacked by our server in front of her manager as we left. He supported her entirely. We were contacted by the owners the next day with an "unapology", with the same rude tone we were treated with the night before. At least they were consistently rude and supported themselves. May their future and revenue be a result of who they have become after all these years. Neither our family or friends will ever patronize Nick Anthe's establishment again.
A diner from Akron,OH gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 20, 2005 @ 9:28 AM

 Had a party for 6 people. food was outstanding service was great and Merilee Anthe even came over to visit with us. I would recommend this restaurant wholeheartedly. Their bean salad and sourkraut ball appetizers are award winning.Everyone was very friendly toward the party even though this particular evening was very busy.
gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on June 11, 2002 @ 10:38 PM

 Friday June 7, 2002 8:30
My son and his girlfriend came to Anthes to celebrate their 2 year anniversary.
My family and I have been long patrons of your restaurant.
Although my son is a young man, he is well educated in public manners and proper protocol.
At my disappointment their first experience at Anthe's was extremely disrespectful and unprofessional. I have always considered Anthe's a step above the others.
The service was poor from beginning to end.
Every course resulted in unacceptable waiting, especially when the waitress walked pass them upon several occasions.
Immediately after the main coarse was delivered and again server left.
The pork chop was overdone on the outside and raw on the inside.
What chef would let this happen?
Again my son had to track someone down and whoever was also took back by the lack of preparation.
This person did apologized, and assured the bill would be adjusted.
My son and his girlfriend continued to be ignored and again had to track someone down to obtain his check.
The bill was not adjusted and no reference of apology was ever conducted by the appropriate personal.
I encouraged my son to go back in, which he did and explain the chain of events to the host or mai'tre d .
He did and again, he was treated second class...
After coming home and clearly explaining his disappointment, I called the restaurant between 10:30-11pm.
Whoever answered the phone, she informed me the manager was too busy to come to the phone.
I professionally asked her to take my number and have the manager call me.
As of yet, no one as had the courtesy of calling me back...
Debbie Six
gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 6, 2001 @ 9:00 PM

 I'm from Maryland and visited my aunt and uncle this week in Ohio. They treated me to dinner at Anthe's. The food was great, service was fantastic and the ambience was splendid. We will definitely go back!
gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 24, 2001 @ 10:03 PM

 We had a very nice Mother's Day at Anthes! It was a great place to bring all three generations...from two grandmas, to all the grandkids. The food was very good and my personal favorite part was the bean salad!


  » Read More: Akron Restaurant Reviews