follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Chinese
Mexican
Burger
Soul Food
Chicken
American Traditional
Wings
Italian


Nearby Cities

Warren
Sterling Heights
Livonia
Troy
Clinton Township




Dining Specials

Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp
- American, Barbecue
4  out of 5 stars
4|Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, med...
Nunns Barbeque
- Barbecue
5  out of 5 stars
5|What a great surprise, The ribs were super tender and had the most loved smoked flavor, The greens...



Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Caribbean Kitchen  5  out of 5 stars
 This is the best jam rock restaurant in Detroit hands down. Everything is good. Only thing I hate is that they are always out of plantinz .
Vicki's Barbecue & Shrimp  4  out of 5 stars
 Ribs were nicely cooked and has the smoked flavor- loved it, the sauce is vinegar based (mild, medium,hot), Usually i only love the sweet sauce but th...
Nunns Barbeque  5  out of 5 stars
 What a great surprise, The ribs were super tender and had the most loved smoked flavor, The greens were lovely, the mac and cheese was ok (could be be...
Caribbean Kitchen  5  out of 5 stars
 been going to this resturant since the 90's the curry goat is all i get by the bucket and i would loose my mind if they ever closed the flavor can not...
Caribbean Kitchen  5  out of 5 stars
 I'm in love with the menu. So many favorites, but the curry goat was the most tender and delectable dish. My son had the curry chicken one of his f...





3.8 stars (19 ratings)

Uptown Barbecue

(313) 861-7590
15700 Livernois Ave, Detroit, MI 48238 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
Soul Food, Barbecue




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Uptown Barbecue Reviews

Avg Rating: 4  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 19

A diner from detroit mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 20, 2011 @ 12:04 AM

 uptown bbq suprise me goodconstumer service food was execellent my exprenice was pleseant i will be back
A diner from DETROIT, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 12, 2011 @ 11:24 PM

 HEY EVERYBODY! UPTOWN HAS A VERY SPECIAL SPECIAL WHERE YOU CAN GET A WHOLE SLAB OF BBQ RIBS PLUS A WHOLE POUND OF BIG DELICIOUS SHRIMP, ALL FOR JUST $25, NOW DIG THAT!!!!
A diner from SOUTHFIELD, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 12, 2011 @ 11:22 PM

 TIRED OF EATING COLD SANDWICHES AND POTATO CHIPS FOR LUNCH? THEN UPTOWN BBQ IS THE PLACE TO GO, ALL KINDS OF HOME-MADE SOULFOOD, AND YOU ARE IN AND OUT SUPER QUICK WITH PLENTY OF TIME TO EAT AND TALK ABOUT HOW GOOD THE FOOD WAS.
A diner from DETROIT, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 12, 2011 @ 11:20 PM

 UPTOWN BBQ IS DETROIT'S OWN! AT UPTOWN BBQ YOU ENJOY DELICIOUS FOOD SERVED WITH FAST, FRIENDLY SERVICE.
A diner from west detroit gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on January 8, 2011 @ 11:37 PM

 Uptown has the best ribs in the city hand down!! been a loyal patron for 15 years and counting!!!
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 8, 2011 @ 7:12 AM

 This was my first time visiting Uptown barbeque and I just have to say everything was delicious. Great food and friendly staff!
A diner from detroit mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 6, 2011 @ 11:15 PM

 i enjoyed myself so much when i went to uptown the service was so nice that i must return
A diner from Detroit. MI gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on January 6, 2011 @ 2:31 PM

 My favorite thing about up is quite silly but I love to see the employees putting us on hold to clean up!! To some that may seem odd but I love that although I am important to the business they try to maintain a certain level of cleanliness. There is a young lady there cierra who has no problem asking you to hold on one sec while she wipes the serving table down, shes also one of the few who can start your order in her head while doin something else. The 1st time I saw this I was like "oh no sweetie I'll wait until your done" so told me she was ok but it was up to me! My food as always was amazing too! If you havent tried Uptown.. PLEASE DO!!
A diner from detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on January 6, 2011 @ 2:07 PM

 I go Uptown at least once a week and I cant say Ive ever been disappointed. there is usually a little line but their are a couple young ladies that get you in and out. she answers to T or tori... very friendly and helpful. I love that i dont have to tell her my order,she speaks and follows with "your usual?"
A diner [[email protected]] from detroit mi gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 5, 2011 @ 8:49 AM

 uptown has the best food in michigan if your looken for great food good service afordble price go to uptown you want be sorry/
A diner from Southfield. MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 31, 2010 @ 12:09 AM

 My co-workers and I enjoy Uptown at least twice a week for lunch.
A diner from DETROIT, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 29, 2010 @ 5:51 PM

 A FRIEND TOLD ME GOOD THINGS ABOUT UPTOWN SO I HAD TO SEE FOR MYSELF. YES, UPTOWN BBQ IS ONE OF DETROIT'S GREATER RESTAURANTS, PERIOD.
A diner from Farmington Hills, MI gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on January 16, 2009 @ 1:28 AM

 I haven't been to Uptown BBQ in a few years but they have completely changed their format with the cafateria style line and the soulfood menu is excellent I purchased dinner for the whole family, Mac & Cheese, candied yams, Collard Greens and Baked Beans, Along with a Slab of Ribs that great BBQ sauce and some meatloaf, to which i was informed it was made from ground Amish Turkey EXcellent, I'm a regualr customer again!!
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on November 25, 2008 @ 8:43 PM

 The previous reviews are from 2004 and I hope those diners go back because Uptown BBQ has changed dramatically since. The prices are a little high but, overall the BBQ is good. And the service is better than in the past.
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on April 4, 2004 @ 4:17 PM

 The Uptown Barbecue was disappointing. In previous visits, it was much better. Maybe the resturant is under new management or ownership. But I will not go back.
A diner from detroit gave an overall rating of 3  out of 5 stars on January 16, 2004 @ 4:50 PM

 Who ever rated this place 4 stars must be, well, the owner, there's no way this place should get four stars, the only reason that this place got any stars from me is because this site does'nt give you the option to put 0. Sorry, that's just my opinon
A diner from Detroit gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on January 13, 2004 @ 9:55 AM

 Anyone who thinks that Uptown BBQ has good BBQ is neither living uptown or downtown but in a cave. You need to get out a little more. Try West Point BBQ on Michigan Ave. in dearborn. I've been to at least 9 BBQ restaurants, and West Point is the best thus far.
A diner from Detroit gave an overall rating of 1  out of 5 stars on January 6, 2004 @ 1:39 PM

 Anyone who said that this is good BBQ has not eaten at west point BBQ on Michigan in dearborn. if your just hungry and just happen to be in the hood, I guess it's ok, but I rather take the extra time and gas to go to West Point
A diner from Detroit, MI gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 3, 2002 @ 12:18 AM

 One of the best carry outs in the city for ribs and chicken, excellent sauce;sweet but not over powering. This place has improved in all aspects of growth, in serving a tasty good quaility rib, improving there customer service, and improving their building which is a plus for the community.


  » Read More: Detroit Restaurant Reviews