follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (223)
American (21)
American Traditional (21)
Armenian (1)
Asian (8)
Barbecue (10)
Brazilian (3)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (2)
Burger (15)
Cajun/Creole (3)
Chinese (22)
Comfort Food/Home Cooking (6)
Continental (7)
Country (3)
Diner (4)
Eclectic (1)
European (1)
Fish and Chips (2)
French (2)
German (5)
Greek (6)
Hot Dog (7)
Indian (13)
Indian/Pakistan (4)
Italian (10)
Japanese (10)
Juice Bar & Smoothie Shop (1)
Korean (1)
Latin (13)
Louisiana (1)
Mediterranean (14)
Mexican (28)
Middle Eastern (6)
Mongolian (2)
New American (11)
Northern Italian (1)
Organic (2)
Pakistani (1)
Persian (3)
Peruvian (1)
Pizzeria (13)
Salvadorean (2)
Seafood (27)
Soul Food (6)
Southwestern (5)
Spanish (2)
Sports Bar and Grill (4)
Steak House (18)
Sushi Bar (8)
Tex-Mex (1)
Thai (1)
Vegan (2)
Vegetarian (3)
Vietnamese (8)

Other City Reviews

Baytown
Channelview
Cleveland
Conroe
Cypress
Dayton
Deer Park
Hempstead
Humble
Katy
Kingwood
Magnolia
Montgomery
Pasadena
Porter
Rosenberg
Spring
Stafford
Sugar Land
Tomball
Waller




Houston Restaurant Reviews

Houston  restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Houston restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Houston just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Houston, you've come to the right place.

Our Houston restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Houston 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 20 of 223

Julia's Bistro

 5 star(s)  (01/04/2011)
“We went here to celebrate our engagement several months ago, and happened to have a Groupon for it as well. FABULOUS food, I still have dreams about the truffle crepes. The only things we weren't so hot about were the mojitos (tasted funny to us, but then again we're not big fans of mojitos..) and o... ”

Azuma

 5 star(s)  (01/16/2011)
“I adore this place, it was my first date with the guy who taught me how to eat sushi. I love all of their rolls, especially The Crazy Irishman! The miso soup is delectable,and the gal who serves me whenever I am there remembers my name and knows my favorite sake. Anytime I need a pick-me-up, I go to... ”

Cafe Layal Midtown

 5 star(s)  (07/08/2011)
“Great Location with an awsome menu. We went on thursday night and they have a belly dancer which put on a good show. I hope they keep a good service because most of these restaurants get greedy and do bad at the end.”

Dona Maria

 5 star(s)  (12/29/2008)
“Well, i have to say it's a hole in the wall kind of restaurant. But the family enviorment is great!!! Owners are very nice. Coffee is great, Food is wonderful, staff is great. Overall, I would come back & bring my other family members!”

Dona Maria

 5 star(s)  (12/31/2008)
“A true gem in Houston! The food is awesome and the prices can't be beat.”

Grooves

 5 star(s)  (02/25/2008)
“This place can be kid friendly it just depends on what day and time you go. But the food, the service the cleaniness of the restaurant is excellent they can get my service any time”

Grooves

 5 star(s)  (07/26/2011)
“AWSOME!! AWSOME!! AWSOME!! Now that Grooves has changed management the service is amazing!! I had my birthday party there and rented out the entire stage, We had a blast!!!”

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (03/24/2012)
“GREAT for lunch. Everything is always cooked fresh to order. The fried catfish sandwich and the grilled Talapia sandwich are awesome!The burgers are thick and handmade. The fries are the best! This place is addicting!”

Skol Casbar & Grille

 5 star(s)  (08/24/2013)
“I love Skol's because the staff is so wonderful and detailed to their clients. Dominique is down to earth and has a great personality. He will put you in the party mood. This is the best kept secret in Houston. You must come out, experience, and become a the "Skol's" groupie.”

Alfreda's Cafeteria

 5 star(s)  (04/18/2010)
“I LOVE IT , LOVE IT , LOVE IT , THOSE OXTAILS ARE OFF THE CHAIN AND THE VEGGIES WERE AWESOMELY FRESH.I CHATTED WITH THE OWNER WHOSE A YOUNG PROFESSIONAL GENTLEMAN WHO DID WONDERS TO THE PLACE. VERY COURTEOUS AND KNOWS HOW TREAT PEOPLE.”

The Buffalo Grille

 5 star(s)  (01/24/2001)
“I always make a point to visit the Buffalo Grille whenever I go to Houston. I have only had breakfast there, but it is still great. The plate-sized pancakes are great and very filling. About two by themselves are enough for a meal. The french toast is another winner. But save room for the hash brown... ”

The Buffalo Grille

 5 star(s)  (03/19/2004)
“Absolutely superb! The King Ranch spinach enchiladas were the best I`ve ever had, and I`ve had spinach enchiladas several times in both Houston and Galveston.”

Kubo's Sushi Bar & Grill

 5 star(s)  (12/10/2004)
“When you want really good sushi, go to Kubo's. It's fresh, the staff is friendly, and the food is authentic and creative.”

Little Matts

 5 star(s)  (09/12/2011)
“Loved it as you first walk in, lots of color, completely kid and family friendly, large menu, great food, ample candy and ice cream. best burgers in town period....”

La Strada Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (07/27/2000)
“La Strada (Westheimer location) has the best Sunday Brunch in the city. Get ready for a good time! ”

Ruggles Grill

 5 star(s)  (11/21/2008)
“The pity is Ruggle's is CLOSED and no one seems to know when it will re-open, or IF it will re-open following damage from the recent hurricane. There is no sign of reconstruction, no lights, and no sign indicating it's resurrection”

Brennan's of Houston

 5 star(s)  (10/08/2000)
“Brennan's is our favorite when it comes to that special night out. Impeccable service, but you can't be in hurry. Definitely five stars!!! P.S. THE place for bread pudding. ”

Mo Mong

 5 star(s)  (10/21/2002)
“I love this place! The waitstaff is great the food is excellent and affordable.”

Mo Mong

 5 star(s)  (02/23/2006)
“For great new art (it changes every month), an amazing sake selection, a hip, young atmosphere and incredible Thai fusion food, this is my favorite place in the city!”

Niko Niko's Greek & American Cafe

 5 star(s)  (02/03/2008)
“Great food always fresh ,one of the cleanest restaurants i have ever seen, trythe pork chops,and the famous gyro with fresh cut fries”

Read more Houston restaurant reviews >>