follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Reviews By Cuisine

All Reviews (97)
American (8)
Asian (4)
Brewery/Pub/Tavern (8)
Burger (1)
Caribbean (3)
Chicken (1)
Chinese (1)
Contemporary (6)
Continental (6)
Cuban (1)
Diner (4)
Health (1)
Indian (1)
Italian (31)
Jamaican (2)
Mexican (3)
Pizzeria (24)
Portuguese (1)
Seafood (10)
Southeast Asian (4)
Southwestern (2)
Sports Bar and Grill (2)
Steak House (1)

Other City Reviews

Berlin
Bristol
Canton
Colchester
Columbia
Cromwell
East Hartford
East Windsor
Enfield
Glastonbury
Higganum
Kensington
Manchester
Middletown
New Britain
Newington
Riverton
Rocky Hill
Simsbury
Southington
Thomaston
Tolland
Vernon
Vernon Rockville
Willimantic
Willington






Hartford Restaurant Reviews

Hartford  restaurant reviews photo

Welcome to our Hartford restaurant reviews guide where you'll find top restaurants off the beaten path, both locally owned and chain. In fact, some of the best restaurants in the Hartford just might be the little mom and pop operations flying under the radar. For some of the best picks in Hartford, you've come to the right place.

Our Hartford restaurant reviews guide can help you make sense of the thousands of options out there. Happy eating!

Also check out our Best Restaurants in Hartford 2013 Guide


Sort By:  Latest Reviews | Rating | A-Z  
Displaying 1 - 20 of 97

Allegro Cafe

 5 star(s)  (01/15/2010)
“Great food at a reasonable price.”

Corner Grinder Shop

 5 star(s)  (02/21/2007)
“Best Itialan resturant around! The grinder are stack high and deliciuos. They have the best beef cult in CT. You won't ever get a bad meal!”

Corner Grinder Shop

 5 star(s)  (08/03/2007)
“GREAT PLACE TO DINE WITH FAMILY AND FRIENDS, REMEMBER, IT'S JUST A GRINDER SHOP, BUT WHAT GREAT SOUPS, AND FOOD. VINNY,HIS WIFE AND STAFF ARE WILL MAKE YOU FEEL AT HOME. TRY IT , YOU WILL LOVE IT.”

Corner Grinder Shop

 5 star(s)  (01/07/2008)
“I grew up a navy brat up and down the East coast. My mother grew up in Hartford and North Kingstown, R.I. I was raised on their grinders, and now live in South Carolina. But I always stop to get grinders every chance I get when I go up there to visit family. You will not get a better sandwich anywhe... ”

Corner Grinder Shop

 5 star(s)  (03/17/2009)
“Vinny & staff are the best. I have eaten there for over 15 years and have not never had a bad meal or bad service. They are also very generous to the community. I have recommended them to many friends over the years and they have become frequent diners as well. Sharon Stone”

Ficaras Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (08/13/2010)
“We usually have take out so I really can't rate the waitress service. This is my favorite restaurant on Franklin Ave. They have the best fettuchini carbonara. Great fried calamari and antiposto. Again, we usally have take out. I have heard the waitresses are a little rude and snooty. Why we ha... ”

First And Last Tavern

 5 star(s)  (06/21/2002)
“You have to have the shrimp scampi pizza. It is a little pricey, but well worth it. I travel from Stratford to Hartford (60 miles) just for one of these pies. Next time up there, I'll take one home to freeze.”

First And Last Tavern

 5 star(s)  (07/13/2005)
“A great restaurant, with a great atmosphere. The spaghetti sauce is the best that I have ever had. The pizzas are outstanding as well. This restaurant is a Hartford landmark, as well as an asset to the south end of Hartford. Good job.”

First And Last Tavern

 5 star(s)  (01/27/2009)
“I ate most of my life in this restaurant starting with when it was a tiny little place where they cooked pasta behind the bar on a hot plate! Their sauce is the best there is. Wish I still lived in Ct. so I could go there more than once or twice a year!”

Kashmir Restaurant

 5 star(s)  (02/24/2009)
“We LOVE Kashmir! The food is delicious, the owner is also the waitstaff and happily gives recommendations and/or changes dishes to suit our preferences. From the outside the restaurant doesn't look like much but inside is a sensual paradise. Prices are very fair, food is phenomenal, and staff is ... ”

Maple Giant Grinder And Pizza

 5 star(s)  (07/26/2008)
“great place to eat,friendly service and you get your money's worth.”

Maple Giant Grinder And Pizza

 5 star(s)  (10/28/2008)
“Excellent”

Maple Giant Grinder And Pizza

 5 star(s)  (01/26/2009)
“The Best Lasagna in the world.”

Maple Giant Grinder And Pizza

 5 star(s)  (09/27/2009)
“If you want the best beef cutlet or chicken cutlet grinders you have to come here, but come hungry they are huge.”

Maple Giant Grinder And Pizza

 5 star(s)  (05/27/2010)
“Best eggplant grinders in town and you get a lot for your money.”

Nutshell

 5 star(s)  (06/12/2008)
“My husband and I were pleasantly surprised when we ate here (June, 2008). Delicious food, beautifully presented and stellar service. We had eaten at Oporto a few weeks ago and found the opposite experience - Mediocre food and bad service and overpriced. Nutshell is a gem!!!”

Nutshell

 5 star(s)  (01/12/2009)
“Loved the food and the ambience. The owner/chef has many interesting choices for the diner. I felt like I was back in Portugal! I love to run in for a comfortable lunch or dinner that won't break the bank!”

Nutshell

 5 star(s)  (04/11/2009)
“We been going there from day one. Its the BEST.”

Nutshell

 5 star(s)  (07/10/2009)
“Hate to just repeat all those raves, but I gotta! I'm from Long Island and a friend from CT said I should try this place. Really nice people and great food at good prices. Clean and modern, but also has a wonderful combination of old-time Irish and Portuguese ambience.”

Nutshell

 5 star(s)  (11/21/2009)
“Great food, reasonably priced. Atmosphere quiet so that we can talk. Have been there 3 or 4 times and great experience each time”

Read more Hartford restaurant reviews >>