follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American
Chinese
Italian
Japanese
Burger
Mexican
Indian/Pakistan
Greek
Indian


Nearby Cities

Johnson City
Bristol
Elizabethton
Jonesborough
Erwin




Dining Specials

Two Dads Cafe n Catering
- American Restaurant in
Kingsport

620 State Restaurant
- Asian Restaurant in
Bristol




Reviews of Similar Restaurants

Riverfront Seafood Company  5  out of 5 stars
 excellent food and service
K B Burgers  5  out of 5 stars
 Great place to get a burger! I've been going there since 1996 and its always been good. Just good down-home atmosphere and excellent burgers. Bette...
Sagebrush Steakhouse  5  out of 5 stars
 my steak was good and hot,nickie my server was wonderful,nice,very helpful on the menu,was there when i needed something.
Riverfront Seafood Company  5  out of 5 stars
 Wonderful place to dine or just eat. Food was great especially the Blackberry Cake. Make sure you save room! But you won't be able to. You will end up...
Sagebrush Steakhouse  5  out of 5 stars
 The steak was the best I have ever eaten and John G. is the best waiter. He did a great job.





4.5 stars (31 ratings)

Purple Cow

(423) 245-1707
1648 E Stone Dr, Kingsport, TN 37660 | MAP
  | Share |





UPDATE THIS LISTING

Purple Cow Reviews

Avg Rating: 5  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 31

A diner from Kingsport, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 11, 2012 @ 3:55 PM

 We eat there every chance we get. Anytime PC is mentioned it's a big YES! Love the food, love the prices. Fav is beef tips, steak bomb, philly cheese, Kingsporter Tater, wings, burger combo/awesome value..Lots of food. great experience, call order in for pickup..they will give you a menu or look online!
A diner from Greeneville, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 7, 2011 @ 2:45 PM

 **********MUST READ*********

As a former PC employee for two years, I should clarify a few things according to the reviews below. 1 the intimidator meat is quite thick, I take it you have never cooked any meat in your life. From the moment its on the grill, its 15 min cook, 5 min to prep and put in the car and 10 to drive it to your company.
2)The space is VERY limited inside but everything is as they say and fresh.I stayed many long nights with mike and debbie while fresh meat was cut and salads chopped and prepped, along with MANY other things.
3) Whats your hurry? there is nowhere left in kingsport to get good quality food, even at a sitdown restaurant, so do us all a favor, if ur in a hurry skip PC and go to Mcdonalds.
4) The cruise is only to full time employees who have worked there a year.
5)If they dont have it they will try their very best to make it. I seen it time and time again ppl would order, we couldnt have it and mike would talk to them..see if they could wait a few extra minutes and just so you know he is the best chef I personally know and I am in college for culinary chef training.
You should really plan a time to go when you actually have a few min to spare, get a menu and decide what you want..sit back, enjoy the enormous amount of food at a very good price.
The expierience is amazing.
A diner [[email protected]] from KINGSPORT gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on November 20, 2010 @ 2:54 PM

 OK i have been eating at the PURPLE COW since it opened The food is great the beef tips are my favorite but ALL the food is great mike make ya feel like his best friend every time you come threw Shakes are great too i drive threw and ask mike to just give me whats good today and have not been disapointed yet GREAT JOB PC.
A diner from Knoxville, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 9, 2010 @ 9:23 PM

 Its a drive thru & most of the time a long line of cars, so plan on waiting in line. The meinu is large, very large. you can get almost anything. I like the corndbeef sub. They dont skimp on portions & the price is right.
A diner from Anchorage, AK gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 16, 2010 @ 11:07 PM

 I heard about this great place called 'The Purple Cow' in Kingsport, TN and their giant menu board from my in-laws during our July 4th BBQ. I wanted to experience this place for myself, so looked up the Kingsport, TN location and drove in from my sisters in Jonesborough, TN during my visit. OH, MY, GOD! I ordered the Mike's Intiminator and quickly noticed that people/cars behind me were getting their meals while I waited. I knew something was awry, but thought it couldn't be that big as my order was only $8 and change, what do you get for that? I next had this pretty blonde hand me my order and when I looked inside,,,'What the heck is that?'!!! That is your order sir...It was the largest burger I've ever seen/ordered,,,It took me 3 days to eat this monster, and The Purple Cow now has it's newest patron! You guys are awesome!!! A hamburger that big for $8, I'll have to start ordering from the kids menu...
S.R. Kaminski - Alaska
A diner from Church Hill,TN. gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 26, 2010 @ 6:29 PM

 Food is great and the price is right, just wish I could get there more often.
The Combo Special, burger,frys and drink is a meal you can't beat anywhere for the price, less than three dollars.
A diner [[email protected]] from Church Hill, Tn gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 28, 2010 @ 3:51 PM

 I like to eat at the Purple Cow. Their garbage fries are the best in town. I like their chef salads. They have so much in them, it is hard to finish one. The same is true for their banana splits. If your order ir ready before the vehicle ahead of you, they will bring it out to you so you don't have to wait until you get to the drive thru window. You definitely get your money's worth.
A diner from Kingsport TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 15, 2010 @ 4:58 PM

 My husband is a regular visitor of the Purple Cow. I am ashamed to say they know him by name because we eat there at least 3 to 4 times a week, maybe more. I never cook, just let Mike and the gang at PC do the work. The food is awesome and the price is very reasonable for thwe amount of food you get. And did I mention the cheesecake? OMG, they have the BEST cheesecake in the world!!!
A diner from Kingsport, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 18, 2010 @ 8:11 AM

 This place is the BOMB! Literally, the steak bomb is A-MAZING. It is a must have. Any and all of the subs are great. Best garbage fries in town, no doubt. I frequent this place regularly and love it.
A diner [[email protected]] from Mt Carmel, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 15, 2009 @ 3:24 AM

 One of the best restaurants in the area. The Intimidator is my favorite item on the menu. Its 1 pound of meat on a homemade bun with all the toppings. Bacon and cheese is available to be put on this burger. Me and a couple of friends attempted the Double Intimidator and I was the only one to finish the whole thing. This burger is HUGE!!!!
A diner from Morristown, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 5, 2009 @ 12:20 PM

 This place is amazing! On numerous occasions, I will drive a little over an hour just to get some of the great food at Purple Cow. Food is delicious an the milkshakes are amazing!
A diner [[email protected]] from Kingsport, TN gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on May 1, 2009 @ 11:49 AM

 You don't have to wait in line! Call your order ahead, and they will bring it out to your car usually very soon after your drive in to get it. Soup beans and cornbread with fried green tomatoes is soooooo good! Not the cleanest place, but we're not talking a five star restaurant here! If you like really good value, large portions, and even really great steaks....menu must have two hundred items on it...then this is your place. The onwer takes the employees on a cruise every summer, too. Who else treats their employees like that??? I love Purple Cow!
A diner from transplanted to Greeneville, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 21, 2009 @ 9:37 AM

 I'm from NY and have traveled all around the country (including Canada). I found Purple Cow while my mother was in the Kingsport Hospital. Wow, what an experience! You can't beat the amount of food you get for your money. I'm a two burger man and couldn't finish the Intimidator. The Steak Bomb is fantastic and the shakes are rich and thick just like when I was a kid (not low-fat garbage). I'm looking into franchising a Purple Cow. They would go over great anywhere in the country.
A diner from Kingsport, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 25, 2009 @ 6:00 PM

 This restaurant ROCKS!!!!! I live in Kingsport. Everyday you will see the line of traffic going down Stone Dr. It is ALWAYS that way. We eat there often. We have never experienced what some of the bad reviews below. To be honest. I dont believe them. You mention PC and you will never hear a bad word. It is up there with Chick Fil A. You much try PC. It is an experience
A diner from Mt. Carmel, Tenn gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on April 23, 2008 @ 8:43 PM

 That is an awesome place to eat and you get a lot of food for your money.
A diner from Kingsport,TN said... on March 27, 2008 @ 11:13 PM

 The meat was spoiled in my hambuger and my wifes salad was very skimpy considering they charged almost 6 dollars for her salad alone. Almost 14 dollars for 2 people and the food was garbage.
A diner from Roselle, IL gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 17, 2008 @ 9:57 PM

 My mom, my aunt and I are in town for the weekend and drove past the Purple Cow to see a HUGE LINE of cars wrapped around the building and almost back out onto the interstate. Intrigued, we looked them up in the yellowpages back in out hotel room and simply couldn't resist. We ordered a variety of foods and shared everything so we could give it all a try. Delicious! Next time we are in Kingsport it will be a definite stop!
A diner from Johnson City, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 1, 2008 @ 1:18 PM

 Awesome food, you get much more than your moneys worth! Anything from a pb&j sandwich to a steak. Beer battered fish was great, portions are huge. Unbelievable menu options!
A diner [[email protected]] from kingsport, tn gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 31, 2007 @ 6:27 PM

 The Purple Cow has a wide variety of food for good prices. The Steak Bomb is excellent ! Mike's Intimator is the best hamburger in the region. Fried Pickles and Halapeno Poppers are recommended
A diner from Casstlewood, VA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 31, 2007 @ 3:04 PM

 No competition in the Upper TN SW VA area. Great food at a reasonable cost. Need one in the Wise county or Norton VA.
A diner from Ft. Blackmore, VA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 3, 2007 @ 7:24 PM

 Purple Cow now has a location in Weber City, VA as well as Stone Drive in Kingsport, TN. Great variety on menu, food is excellent, and yes, sometimes you have to wait awhile but it's worth the wait. The Steak Bomb is delicious!!!!!
A diner from kingsport tn. gave an overall rating of 2  out of 5 stars on November 27, 2007 @ 10:53 PM

 French fries were loaded with salt. While the food is ok it's nothing to write home about.

The basic menu such as burgers are a good value but diners are way overpriced for what you get.
Great place to spend $12.00 for $6.00 worth of food.
A diner from Sleepy Hollow, Illinois gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on October 18, 2007 @ 1:28 PM

 My name is Raquel Ramos from Sleepy Hollow Illinois and I travel to TN to visit my family members (11W Concrete, the Peters) and was introduced to Purple Cow AND now that is the ultimate restaurant for me!!! The chicken/steak bomb--THE BOMB!!!!! Garbage fries --to die for!! THE SHAKES----AWESOME!!!! When I visit I cannot leave TN w/out eating @ PC. When I visited and whoever went w/me out there they ALSO loved Purple Cow!!! WE NEED ONE IN ILLINOIS-----NEAR SLEEPY HOLLOW PREFERABLY!!!
Purple Cow in Illinois would be a hit!!!
A diner from kingsport, tn gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on October 11, 2007 @ 8:18 PM

 on sept 19 i ate the new intimindator burger it was the best burger i ever had. i would reccomend this place to everyone. it's great. it is well worth the wait for such fresh good food at a great price
A diner from Johnson City, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 2, 2007 @ 12:16 PM

 this is one of the best places i have ever eaten or the best .you really need to check into putting one in johnson city ,tenn. i have the perfect location for it . that is main street in j.c .one of them is the old golden nuggett bar .it burnt out last year .and then there is the old gurney burger building which they are both on main street.think about it .then do it! :) thanks
A diner from Gray, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on July 26, 2007 @ 2:26 PM

 I just now ate at the Purple Cow for the first time. It is awesome. It is one of my son and daughter-in-law's favorits places to eat. It is well worth the wait.
A diner from Elizabethton, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on June 26, 2007 @ 5:01 PM

 The Purple Cow is a drive-thru only restaurant although they do offer a limited delivery area. Be prepared to wait in a long line but by all means, DO WAIT! It is well worth it. The food is awesome.
A diner from Kingsport, TN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 19, 2007 @ 5:35 AM

 Great food-- great value -- worth waiting in line, but best to call ahead and have the food carried out to your car.
Relatives returning to Kingsport to visit stop at Purple Cow everytime they are in town, and then carry food back home to other family members when they leave.
A diner from Danielsville, GA gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 28, 2007 @ 1:47 PM

 I live in Georgia..I come to Kingsport 6 or 7 times a year and ALWAYS eat at least once at Purple Cow. I love it! My Kingsport family loves it..Great Value...the wait is worth it.
A diner [[email protected]] from Kingsport, TN said... on December 20, 2006 @ 11:21 AM

 The only problem is delivery time. We ordered a good size order. We were told it would be delivered by 11:30AM but it was after 12:00PM when it was actually delivered. The new intimidater is good but not worth a thirty minute wait.
A diner from kingsport tn gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on February 18, 2005 @ 2:48 PM

 This restaurant is great they are kid frindly great prices great service and really really great food at very low prices but i would urge you to eat here it is the best.


  » Read More: Kingsport Restaurant Reviews