follow us on twitter    Get ActiveDiner on the iPhone

Cuisine

All Restaurants
American


Nearby Cities

Fort Wayne
Huntington
Auburn
Columbia City
Decatur




Dining Specials

Barbecue To Go
- Barbecue Restaurant in
Bluffton

Bob's Restaurant
- American Restaurant in
Woodburn








4.8 stars (14 ratings)

Brownstone On State

(260) 723-5545
105 South State Street, South Whitley, IN 46787 | MAP
  | Share |
Features
Upscale Casual




UPDATE THIS LISTING

Brownstone On State Reviews

Avg Rating: 5  out of 5 stars      Number of Reviews: 14

A diner from Columbia City, Indiana gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 30, 2011 @ 8:52 AM

 Great place to eat! Perfect portions for price.
A diner from North Manchester, IN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 26, 2011 @ 6:43 PM

 Wonderful place to dine - food and service. I'll definitely return again and again!
A diner from Ossian, Indiana gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 29, 2010 @ 10:47 AM

 Our experience was a positive one...the food was excellent, our server was very attentive and very pleasant. The large group of us was served well and everyone was pleased with their choice from the menu, from paninis to sandwiches to steaks! The desserts were also a hit with several at the table. Although it was our first dining experience at the Brownstone on State....it will not be our last!
A diner from Huntington, IN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on December 28, 2010 @ 9:35 PM

 The Brownestone on State is one of our favorite restaurants! We go there once or twice a month on Friday nights with our friends! The service is excellent, and the food is amazing. Beginning with the warm rolls and homemade honey butter, then the house salad served with the house dressing - warm bacon vinegarette. . . that's to die for. Then there's the entree . . .what can I say, the chicken, pasta, flat iron steak, prime rib and burgers are the best. Now, for the desserts . . they are delicious! Make sure you save room for something, or get a to go container and take home a dessert!
A diner from warsaw, in gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 4, 2010 @ 5:16 PM

 Like Andy said...UMM Good!
Order dessert first...they might be gone if you are a "late bird" to dinner.
Damn GOOOOOD!
A diner from South Whitley, IN gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on March 22, 2010 @ 10:50 PM

 The Brownstone is a great asset to the town of South Whitley. Their food is exceptional and a great value. The service can be slow, but the quality of the food makes up for it. The Creamy tomato soup is the best I've ever tasted, and our family and friends from out of state always want to go there to experience it.
A diner from Tri Lakes gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on September 25, 2009 @ 11:18 AM

 If you are looking for excellent value at excellent price, this is the place. I would rate the prime rib and sides as some of the best in the Ft Wayne area. To top it all off, a 22oz Fat Tire beer for $5.50--What a deal!
A diner from Columbia City gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 26, 2009 @ 11:16 AM

 The Brownstone Cafe had the best atmosphere. It has large oak tables and black railed chairs. A solid brick wall separates the large dining room from the cafe seating, wainscoting nearly to the ceiling and lighting fixtures set the mood!
Now to the service; our waitress was so polite, and a joy to be around, and the table service was excellent. The food was so very tasty and fresh! The cheese was melted perfectly on the burgers and the wraps were fresh as well as the apple salad! After finding out that we were there past closing (of which we hadn't paid attention), we were not rushed into eating and were made to feel right at home! A family of four had sandwiches and platters for under $30.00! We were also privileged to experience a wedding rehearsal dinner upstairs and the food was excellent! Please give the Brownstone a visit in the little town of South Whitley. It is well worth the drive!
A diner from Columbia City, IN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on August 7, 2009 @ 11:36 AM

 This place is worth the drive....Burgers & Paninis anytime plus Prime Rib and Steaks on the weekend rate with the best I've ever had...(anywhere..any price. Their selection of import beers is great...including Fat Tire from Colorado. State Road 5, St.Road 14 or St.Road 205 will get you to South Whitley..Brownstone at the only light in town.
A diner from HUNTINGTON IN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on May 21, 2009 @ 9:58 AM

 WONDERFUL PLACE TO GO. YOU CAN DINE AT YOUR LEISURE WITHOUT FEELING LIKE THEY WANT TO KICK YOU OUT. WE HAVE EATEN HERE MANY TIMES AND WILL CONTINUE.
A diner from South Whitley, IN gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on September 13, 2008 @ 1:58 PM

 Great food, good prices, nice atmosphere and I can walk there from my house. It is really nice to have such a quality family owned restaurant so near by. The staff is friendly, the owners know our names and the menu is respectable. The Saturday morning breakfast buffet is my favorite.
A diner from Warsaw, IN gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on March 13, 2008 @ 12:42 PM

 A very pleasant dining experience. Everyone working there, from owners to servers, was friendly and helpful. And the food is terrific! Truly a gem in the heart of this small community.
A diner from Fort Wayne, Indiana gave an overall rating of 5  out of 5 stars on January 14, 2008 @ 9:18 PM

 The Brownstone is amazing!! I truly enjoy the wonderful food and look forward to the menu each week. The owners and staff are great! This is a must go place....
A diner from Pierceton, Indiana gave an overall rating of 4  out of 5 stars on November 28, 2007 @ 6:55 AM

 The staff are wonderful and the owners, Mike and Kim, truly care about their customers and know them by name. This truly is a great place to dine.


  » Read More: South Whitley Restaurant Reviews