At the turn of the twentieth century in became a General Store selling seed, yard goods, feeds, and other general items of interest needed for that time. This is not folklore; we know this to be true!
In 1937, Louisville experienced the "Great Flood" and Dominick Maier owned the Swan and Vine Bar located just down the street. After the flood, his bar was destroyed and he moved into business to what is now the COACH LAMP RESTAURANT & PUB. Maier's Bar and Grill was known for its roast beef and mashed potato plate, a tradition we still carry on to this day.
When Dominick retired, he handed the business down to his sons. They added the back bar, which is from the Post Office on Broadway and they also added the pink ceramic tile which we uncovered in 2000 during our first renovation.
In the mid 1970's, two local attorneys, Bill Clemens and Adrien O'Brien, acquired the bar and sold it in the late 1970's to Don and Phil Workman. The Workman's subsequently sold the bar to Peggy and Jim Clark, who operated it for the next 18 years.
In November of 2000, the current owners Gail and Billy Darling, bought the business and have carried on many of the traditions from previous owners as well as introducing new ideas, such as the eclectic dining you are about to experience.